Skip to main content

Early Childhood Education: Articles

This web page lists resources in early childhood education (ECE), care, and development for young children from birth to approximately age 5.

Finding Databases

Search for scholarly articles by using research databases.
On the library home page, a database may be selected by two methods:

Finding Articles Full-Texted

When looking for scholarly articles only, remember to check the box labeled either Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals on the database search page.

Locate the Full-Text of an Article in a Database:

1.  Click on "Search for Full-Text"

2. Check for PDF icon on article record in database search results.

Locate the Full-Text of Article from a Citation:

Click on the JOURNALS button on the library homepage to search for the name a specific journal. The results will indicate all electronic subscriptions.

Managing Search Results

Databases have tools that help you manage your results and more.  ERIC, Education Source and others produced by EBSCOhost use the same tools:

For advanced Search options within EBSCOhost see Help.

Articles Delivered Electronically Free

If the article you need is not available online?  We will find it, scan it, and make it available to you electronically.

1.  Use ILLiad - our interlibrary loan system.  Login or Register (first time users).
2.  Select First Time User.  Provide requested information.
3.  You will receive an e-mail indicating when the article is available.  Follow the prompts and retrieve the article within 10 days.
4.  That's it!