Skip to main content

Distance Learners: Services/Resources

This guide outlines library services and resources for distance learners at the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library

Home: Library Services for Distance Learners

As a Norfolk State University student, you have access to online journals through the library databases. Login with your NSU network (username and password).  Don't know your username and password? Contact O.I.T. Client Services.

NSU users have access to over one hundred databases.  To help you find the one you need for a particular topic, you can see them arranged by Subject Category or by Name .  Each category lists relevant subject databases, but if you know the name of a specific database by name, you can go to that letter.

If you find an article you want that is not online, you may request it from the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library.  How to request articles.

Also, see our other guides.

Add the Resources for Distance Learners Library Guide to your smartphone, android, iPhone by scanning the QR Code below.  The information contained in this guide will be available to you anywhere and anytime.

What can you access online?

If you are a student in one of the online courses that NSU offers each semester, then this guide can help you navigate the library resources available to you.

What can you access online?

  • Research assistance
  • Online tutorials
  • Hundreds of full text articles
  • Books and eBooks
  • Services especially for students more the 50 miles from campus
  • Access to libraries all over the world
  • Subject Research Guides
  • Chat or text a librarian
  • All of the Internet, of course!

Use the tabs above to find out more about the best resources for online students

Our Research Guides

LibGuides have been created to assist you with your research.  Browse guides by subject or by course.

Off Campus Access

As a distance student, you have access to all of the library's online and print resources.  You can access and print anything you find in our online databases.  You can request resources through our Interlibrary Loan system.  In order to access resources from off campus, students must identify themselves as NSU affiliates by entering their network ID and password.  Login to MyNSU.  MyNSU connects students, faculty and staff to information and systems from one point of entry.

Distance and Online Learning Services

Norfolk State University supports all NSU students, regardless of location. Most of your research needs can be found on the Library's website, including your ability to email a Librarian, search the Library's catalog, and search over a hundred online resources. The links here are devoted to guiding students to the services provided for you as an online learner.

If you would like additional information about the various services available to you as an online learner, please call the Information Services department at 757-823-8517.

Get Started

Connecting to NSU Off Campus

  • Library Home Page:This is the gateway to Library resources.
  • Connect from Off Campus: Sign in to explore the Library website and databases from off campus.
  • Connection problems: Get help logging into Library website and databases, along with other library equipment.
  • Wireless Access: Get help configuring your devices for wireless access.
  • Blackboard Support Log into Blackboard, get support and watch Blackboard Tutorials.
  • Client Services: Contact the OIT Client Services for problems with account access, IT-related issues and other issues concerning NSU computers.

Library Services

  • ILLIAD: InterLibrary Loan: If the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library does not own a book or article, we will find it for you through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Interlibrary Loan is a free service in which we get the books (or magazine or journal articles) you need from another library and send them to you. Sign Up for a ILL Account.
  • Borrowing Services: Policies on how, when and what can be taken out of the LBB Library.
  • Ask a Librarian: Call or email a reference Librarian for research and/or academic needs.
  • Call Reference Desk: Contact Reference Desk at 823-8517.
  • Visit the Library: Online students can come to our library at anytime.
  • Document Delivery (for online students only): Coming Soon!

Research Tools

  • Research Tools: Find the online and digital tools and services to make research easier.
  • Subject Guides: Find access to resources specific to the subject and/or discipline you are studying.
  • View a tutorial: Short videos on how to use the library, search techniques and research strategies and more.
  • Databases: Find articles in journals, magazines and newspapers.
  • Library Online Catalog: Search books, electronic books, government documents, DVDs and etc.
  • Search Full Text E-books:Search the full text of electronic books in over six e-book collections.

Media Services

The Media Resource Center (MRC) is located n the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library on the first floor.  It houses DVDs, CDs and other audiovisual materials. These materials are available for checkout.   It is designed to enhance student's educational experiences by making available to them a wide range of technical equipment.

Students can borrow laptops, iPads, iPods, digital cameras, DVDs, software, etc.

Area is equipped with scanners, cameras, tablets, computers, microfilm readers and more...

The Center also offers access to the same media design software used by professionals.  The programs are Reason, Adobe Creative Clouds and Final Cut. The staff is available for limited technical support.

 

Library Media Resources Guide

Videos Online

American History in Video Providing the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.

Films on Demand  Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. The films that are available at this time are Criminal Justice, Computer Science & Engineering.

Insight Media Digital Library - Psychology  Access to over 700 video clips in Psychology and Sociology that are short, focused, topic-specific clips that are searchable by topic and keyword. Direct links provided for on campus and off campus (proxy server) access.

Insight Media Digital Library - Sociology  Access to over 700 video clips in Psychology and Sociology that are short, focused, topic-specific clips that are searchable by topic and keyword. Direct links provided for on campus and off campus (proxy server) access.

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video: Volume 1  The most extensive video collection ever assembled in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.

Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy  Provides access to the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology through contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners.

 

NSU Office of Extended Learning (SEL)