Skip to main content

Distance Learners: Books and e-Books

This guide outlines library services and resources for distance learners at the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library

e-Books Collections

The online version of the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world.


 eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) EBSCOHost's collection of more than 2,000 titles. Formerly NetLibrary Collection VII.

EBSCOs eBook Academic Collection EBSCOs EBook Academic Collection is a subscription package of over 121,000 eBook titles. The collection contains a wide variety of academic subject matter. This collection may be accessed through the Library's online catalog, by using a direct link from the e-book collections page eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) by selecting the link from the database lists, or by selecting e-Book Academic Collection from the database menu in any other EBSCOHost database. Books may be read page by page in Adobe reader; downloads or "checkouts" require a personal account in Adobe Digital Editions.
   
Over 5000 titles from the Ebrary Academic collection on Physical Sciences.
Ebrary Help Pages
 
The Elsevier/Science Direct e-Book collection includes the front list titles from 2013 and 2014 in twenty-two subject areas including computer science, health sciences, psychology, engineering, mathematics, forensics and finance. For most effective searching, filter by subject (check box), All titles, books, subscription and complimentary.
 
Nearly 1,700 reference books and current handbooks covering all aspects of civil, mechanical and electrical engineering.
 
Allows users to build a collection of directory information and perform data analysis. Researchers can analyze how a certain industry fared within a specific state.
 
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
 
A variety of eReference materials, including Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians to International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Very strong in the field of Literature.
 
Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online and the Oxford Companion to Music.
 
A range of fully-indexed, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
 
Provides quick and easy access to award-winning scholarship, Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) offers access to thousands of academic works, in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
 
Offering more than 12,400 technology, digital media and business books and videos.
 
Up-to-date resources with collections in the following areas: Chemical and Material Sciences, Computer Science, Engineering, Physics and Astronomy and Behavioral Science.

Using e-Books

Here's what you need to know about using LBB Library's ebooks:

  1. TabletIt's a different process than downloading ebooks for personal use or even from the public library system. The process also differs depending on which particular collection you are wanting to use.
  2. You can borrow thousands of ebooks through our system for free. You can access them from on and off-campus. You can use ebooks on your iPads, laptops, e-readers, etc. However, there are compatibility issues with certain devices and collections.  When you download a book, you may have to create accounts, add programs, or be subject to a loan period.  You also want to be sure to download the book to the device you plan to read from, as transferring files is not always possible.  Your best bet is to read from your computer browser.
  3. Some ebooks restrict the number of simultaneous users so that only one person can access the book at a time.
  4. Some Butler ebooks are restricted to a loan period. Times for loan periods can vary, but normally the length of the loan will be 7 or 14 days. After your loan period has past, the book will expire automatically and no longer be available on your device.
  5. All Butler ebooks can be accessed via WorldCat Discovery. Start your search there, then use this LibGuide for additional viewing and downloading directions for each ebook provider.

e-Books

What is an e-book?

  • Actual published books in digital format
  • 24/7 access from anywhere
  • Fully searchable

How do I "borrow" one?

  • To access an ebook, click on one of the links on the left to look in our collections or the online catalog
  • Enter your username and password (see box at the bottom)
  • Select the title that you would like to use by clicking on it
  • Read, create notes, cite, print, download, email - each collection offers slightly different features.

Where do I find them?

  • Use the links provided here or in your Portal under Library Tab.
  • Once you have selected the collection you would like to search, enter your search terms in the search box.
  • You can also browse the collections.
  • In Gale Virtual Reference Library, use the Subjects listed on the left OR click on the Title List to get all of the titles in this collection in alphabetical order.
  • In eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), click on Library Holdings to view all of the library's electronic books in this collection.

Find books in our collection by searching the library catalog.

 

 

Go to Worldcat under the library's databases A to Z list and search for an item in libraries near you.

e-Books FAQ's

Do I need an eBook reader to use ebooks?

 
Can I print or save pages from an ebook?
 
eBooks on EBSCOhost
  • Click Print or E-mail icon on the right
  • Select pages that you want to print

  • You can choose to either print or e-mail your selected pages in pdf format
  • You cannot print/e-mail more than 60 pages per session.

GALE Virtual Reference Library

  • Click Print or E-mail button on the top of your screen
  • You can only print/e-mail one section/chapter of a book at a time
  • There is no print limit per session
Can I download ebooks to my ipad or ebook reader?
 
No, you do not need an e-reader or mobile device to use GPC libraries ebooks. All you need is a computer with an internet connection. However, you can check out our ebooks for off-line use on a variety of devices including laptop computers, Nooks, iPads, Kindles, etc.
 
How do I access the library's databases and e-books from off campus?
 

Off-campus access to the library's electronic resources (i.e., ebooks, databases, streaming video, etc.) is available to currently enrolled students, currently employed faculty and staff who have a NSU network login I.D.

Depending on the resource you want to access, you will need to enter the current NSU password, or NSU login credentials (the same username and password used for your email).

Device Help

Get tech support for your e-reader device.

Off-Campus Access

USING THE LIBRARY'S RESOURCES FROM OFF-CAMPUS

Off-campus (or remote) access to the University Library’s electronic resources is provided to allow Library users  to securely connect to databases, electronic journals,  ebooks and streaming media services without installing complicated third-party software. When you attempt to access library content from off campus, you’re prompted  to enter your NSU network username and password after which you’re connected. It’s that easy.

Having trouble with remote access to e-books?

If you encounter a broken link or cannot get into a resource, you can do a few things first to make sure that there really is a problem.

  1. Reload the page
  2. Make sure you have configured your browser to accept cookies
  3. Wait a few minutes and try again. For some resources we have a limited number of simultaneous users. When the maximum number of users are logged in, you could be denied access.
  4. Change to a different browser and/or computer
  5. You may be prompted for a username and password when none is required. Please wait a few minutes and try again.

Ask a Librarian