Skip to main content

Distance Learners: Database Information

This guide outlines library services and resources for distance learners at the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library

Database Information

Lyman Beecher Brooks Library Homepage

What is a database? The LBB Library subscribes to thousands of academic journals. Most are electronic. Databases gather those electronic journals together, usually by subject, and allow a user to search for articles on specific topics or by particular authors. Some databases are general while others are subject specific. The LBB databases are categorized by subject, but many of the databases cover more than one subject area.

 

Check the LibGuides on your subject for more resources!

 

 

 

Finding a Database by Title

Finding a specific database by title:

Has your professor suggested a database for your research? Something like Academic Search Complete or JSTOR? 

You will need to go to the LBB Library Homepage. The link is provided. Make sure you are logged in!

Go to the LBB Library Homepage then click on Databases. Once you are on that page, click on the alphabet corresponding to the "TITLE"  of the database.

Boolean Operator

Add additional search terms using the Boolean operator "AND" You will get a more specific subset of material focused on aspects of your topic. For example, searching for "education" AND "distance learners" will produce fewer and more focused results.

 

Capturing the Information You Need

Once you find some articles on your topic, print, e-mail, download/save, or write down the citation information for each pertinent article. Downloading or saving citations on your computer makes creating a bibliography easier.

 

Title:  Effects of Learning Style on Achievement of Distance Learners

Authors:

Khan, Jamshed1
Iqbal, Muhammad

 

Source:

Dialogue (1819-6462). Jul-Sep2016, Vol. 11 Issue 3, p296-309. 14p. 7 Charts.

 

Finding a Database by the Subject

Finding a database by subject:

If your professor has not suggested a particular subject, then you will want to investigate the databases by subject.  Once again, you will go to the  Library's Homepage then click on Databases by Subject. Use the drop down menu and choose your subject and click SUBMIT.