Skip to main content

Distance Learners: Citation Tools & Plagiarism

This guide outlines library services and resources for distance learners at the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library

Citation Tools Within Our Databases

 

Did you know that several of our databases come with citation tools that format article citations in several different styles? Citation creation is available in various formats, including ALA, APA, AMA, Chicago/Turabian, etc. Look for the CITE or EXPORT function next to the article record in most databases to create a citation for your reference list. Use these shortcuts with caution though; always check them with the Library's citation style guides for accuracy.

Many databases also have personal folders in which you can permanently save your searches and articles, as well as set up alerts for new issues of your favorite journals.

Look for these sign-in features in all EBSCO, JSTOR, and other databases.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Citation Tools for Free

Please keep in mind that the following tools are not perfect. It is highly recommended that you verify the accuracy of any citations produced by these tools using the citation style's official manual.

Many of these citation tools also allow you to import and/or export citations between them and other citation tools. 

How do I Retrieve Citations Within the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library's Databases?

It's simple!

Click on the following link for a tip sheet on how to retrieve formatted references in our databases from the articles that you find.

 

 

NOTE: Review the instructions at EBSCO Support Site and make any necessary corrections before using. Pay special attention to personal names, capitalization, and dates. Always consult your library resources for the exact formatting and punctuation guidelines.

Zotero

What Zotero Does

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a Firefox add-on that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It is a free, easy to use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

  Take a look at what you can do with Zotero:

  1. Create and manage citations of books, articles, videos, etc.
  2. Import citations from databases
  3. Attach searchable notes, pdf's, images, and tags to citations
  4. Quickly create a bibliography in multiple formats (MLA, Chicago, APA...)
  5. Automatically manage in-text citations in Microsoft Word
  6. Easily share references with others
  7. Create bibliographies

It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Other Universities Undergraduate Writing Centers

Many other U.S. universities also have excellent undergraduate writing centers. Check these out for more information. 

NSU Academic Policy

Norfolk State University adheres to policies and procedures on plagiarism and academic honesty. There are consequences and the results can be failure for the class, expulsion from the class, or  expulsion from the University.

Code of Student Conduct

Academic Dishonesty Procedures