Skip to main content

Graduate Social Work Program: Evidence-Based Practice

Welcome to the Social Work LibGuide. This guide highlights sources related to Social Work. In addition to the sources, students, faculty and staff should check the Online Catalog.

Databases

‚ÄčCINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text

The Cumulative Index is a rich collection of medicine, pharmacy and allied health journals. With full-text access to journal titles like Registered Nurse, Health Economics, and Advances in Nutrition this is a go to database for all health science researchers.

Medline

A database for health, mental health, public health, social work, and well-being. It has numerous evidence-based limits including Clinical Queries, Article Types, and a Comparative Effectiveness topic.

PsychNET

Database for psychology, mental health, and well-being. Has numerous evidence-based limits in the Methodology limit.

Research Based Journals

Research on Social Work Practice

Published bi-monthly, is a disciplinary journal devoted to the publication of empirical research concerning the assessment methods and outcomes of social work practice.

Social Work Research

Widely regarded as the outstanding journal in the field, it includes analytic reviews of research, theoretical articles pertaining to social work research, evaluation studies, and diverse research studies.

 

What Are EBPs?

Evidence-Based Practice refers to the process where the practitioner combines well researched interventions with clinical experience and ethics, client preferences and culture to guide and inform the delivery of treatments and services (Social Work Policy Institute). 

YouTube: Evidence-Based Practices Research. uscsowklib: Published on Mar 15, 2016

Websites

The Campbell Collaboration for Evidence-Based Searches

An evidence-based database for systematic reviews in the social and behavioral sciences, along with education and criminal justice.

PubMed Health

"PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care."

Evidence-Based Behavioral Practice

Information about evidence-based practice related to the behavioral sciences.

Center for Mental Health Services Research (CMHSR)

Brown School research center. See the Projects & Publications tab. "...research agenda to improve mental health care in the social services."

Evidence-Based Practice for the Helping Professions

Provides the definition of evidence-based practice along with guidance in formulating the question and advice on searching appropriate databases.

Program Performance and Evaluation Office (PPEO) - Program Evaluation

From the CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention). "How to" information and resources.