Skip to main content

Exercise Science: Government Databases/Streaming Videos Databases

This guide is intended to help you find and use library resources to complete your research for Exercise and Sports Science.

Government Databases

  • CDC Wonder
    Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.
    A Centers for Disease Control & Prevention resource
  • HCUP Databases
    The HCUP (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project ) family of administrative longitudinal databases contains discharge-level information on inpatient care in U.S. hospitals or ambulatory surgery encounters.
    A Healthcare Research and Quality resource
  • Health Information Tennessee
    A comprehensive site on Tennessee Health providing county profiles, reports, statistical data & maps.
    A Tennessee Department of Health resource
  • Health Professional Licensing Reports
    Excel files giving licensing reports on a wide variety of health professions in Tennessee. Includes educational & demographic information.
    A Tennessee Department of Health resource
  • HealthFinder
    Website providing consumers with understandable, reliable, authoritative on-line information about health and medical topics.
    A Health & Human Services resource
  • HIV Database
    Contains data on HIV genetic sequences, immunological epitopes, drug resistance-associated mutations, and vaccine trials.
    A Los Alamos National Laboratory resource
  • Images from the History of Medicine
    Digital collection of portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine. Look under "Copyright" for permissions information. Coverage: 15th to 21st century.
    Provided by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health
  • National Institutes of Health Image Bank
    images from the collections of the 27 institutes and centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health. Contents include general biomedical and science-related images, clinicians, computers, patient care-related images, microscopy images, and various exterior images. Look under "About the NIH Image Bank" for permissions. Search or browse.
    Provided by the National Institutes of Health
  • Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
    Full text resource describing genes and inherited disorders in humans.
    An NCBI database
  • Visible Human Project
    Complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Transverse CT, MR and cryosection images. Provides links to applications for viewing the images as well as sources of images and animations based on the project.
    Provided by the National Library and Medicine and the National Institutes of Health

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video

Streaming Videos Databases

The following databases contain documentary and educational streaming videos suitable as academic sources.  In addition to screening the entire videos, Films on Demand and Kanopy enable the creation of clips or playlists of individual segments of each video.  When accessing these from off campus, you will be prompted for your  NSU login.

Films on Demand -- A comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos licensed from a long established educational media distributor. More than 24,708 videos cover a wide range of topics organized into multiple broad subjects. These subjects are then further divided into narrower subject. Individual segments subdivide each video into discrete shorter units. Subject areas include: anthropology, archival films & newsreels, area studies, art & architecture, biology, business, communication, computers & technology, criminal justice, earth science, education, english & language arts, environmental science, geography, health & medicine, history, mathematics, music & dance, philosophy & religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, and world languages.
JOVE  Video Journal and Science Education -- JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. All JoVE articles are indexed in subject-relevant indexing sites, including PubMed/MEDLINE, SciFinder and Scopus.
Kanopy Streaming -- Kanopy provides access to more than 26,000 documentary and feature-film titles, including those from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, on every topic imaginable. After creating a personal account, individual users can create their own clips and playlists and embed them into learning management system course pages. The database is searchable by keyword and film title, as well as subject.