Skip to main content

Exercise Science: Websites to Know

This guide is intended to help you find and use library resources to complete your research for Exercise and Sports Science.

Websites to Know

Online Resources

These online web resources may help you in your research.

Exercise Data Sources

Exercise Data Sources

A collection of Data Sets gathered and made available by the CDC including BRFSS, NHIS, and more.

The home of the U.S. Government's open data sources. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. Includes data on Agriculture, climate, ecosystems, and more.

Data sets on a wide variety of subjects made freely available to the public by the government of the United Kingdom.

Health Data Sets compiled and made available by the British government.

The European Union Open Data Portal is the single point of access to a growing range of data from the institutions and other bodies of the European Union (EU). Data are free for you to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes.

By providing easy and free access to data, the portal aims to promote their innovative use and unleash their economic potential. It also aims to help foster the transparency and the accountability of the institutions and other bodies of the EU.

The EU Open Data Portal is managed by the Publications Office of the European Union. Implementation of the EU's open data policy is the responsibility of the Directorate-General for Communications Networks, Content and Technology of the European Commission.

A collection of data, tools, and statistics maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine's National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR).

A collection of datasets gathered by the US Government pertaining to health.

Healthy People 2020 tracks approximately 1,200 objectives organized into 42 topic areas, each of which represents an important public health area. At the time of the December 2010 launch 911 objectives were measurable with baseline data and established targets. A few objectives that have achieved high levels of success are being tracked without a target for informational purposes. Targets will be set during the decade for these objectives if warranted. The rest of the objectives did not have baseline data and were considered developmental. Targets for the developmental objectives will be set when baseline data become available.

This database provides detailed mortality and population data to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the history of human longevity.

A collection of datasets collected and compiled by the CDC on a variety of health metrics and issues.

Data and documentation for phases I and II of the NICHD-SECCYD study. Access to the data set requires application and IRB approval.

A large number of html and text files on alcohol use and consumption.

​

A collection of data sets gathered and provided for public use by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

Data sets gathered and made available by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Topics include Energy, CO2 emissions, environmental, agricultural, and health topics.

A collection of open data sets about finance, public safety, infrastructure, environment, education, demographics, transportation, economy, health, recreation, housing and development, politics, and social services.

The Global Health Observatory is WHO's gateway to health related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States.
Data are organized to monitor progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), including health status indicators to monitor progress towards for the overall health goal, indicators to track equity in health indicators, and the indicators for the specific health and health related targets of the SDGs.

The Wisconsin Longitudinal Study (WLS) is a long-term study of a random sample of 10,317 men and women who graduated from Wisconsin high schools in 1957. The WLS provides an opportunity to study the life course, intergenerational transfers and relationships, family functioning, physical and mental health and well-being, and morbidity and mortality from late adolescence through 2011. WLS data also cover social background, youthful aspirations, schooling, military service, labor market experiences, family characteristics and events, social participation, psychological characteristics and retirement.

A collection of open data gathered by The World Bank. While primarily economic in nature, the data touches on topics such as agriculture, energy, health and science as well.