Skip to main content

Urban Education and Urban Studies.: Statistical Information

This guide serves as a resource to the interdisciplinary field of urban education, urban affairs and urban studies.

Statistical Records General

Internet Glossary of Statistical Terms

This site provides definitions of various  statistical terms and concepts.

Statistical Assessment Service (STATS)

" STATS - has become a much-valued resource on the use and abuse of science and statistics in the media."


Population Index-Princeton University

The Popluation Index provides  "an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics."

 

Statistical Records International

UNESCO Institute for Statistics

 The UNESCO's site is "the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories."

UNICEF'S Statistics & Monitoring Site

The UNICEF site provides " Economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world."

United Nations-Population Division

The United Nations-Population Division provides " updated demographic estimates and projections for all countries."

Central Intelligence Agency's (CIA)-World Factbook

" The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."

World Health Organization's (WHO) Data & Statistics  Site

The WHO site provides global health data.

Statistical Records United States

U.S. Department of Commerce-Bureau of Economic Analysis

This site provides data about "U.S. Economic Accounts."

FedStats

"FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government."

Statistical Abstract of the United States

"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."

American Statistics Index (print) Reference Z7554.U5 A46

 

These are selected resources for national data.

Access to over 400,000 data sets of federal and state level (some city/SMA) time series data sets. US data sets from the Census, Commerce, Energy, Federal Reserve, Labor, and Treasury departments. Also includes LIBOR, Australia, Japan and the Central Bank of Europe.

  • FedStats
  • FDSYS
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
Additional US sources:
 
  • American FactFinder
  • General Social Survey (GSS)

 

 

Statistical Sources

Digest of Education Statistics

Condition of Education

UNESCO Institute for Statistics

 

Mental Measurement Yearbook

The Mental Measurement Yearbook is regularly updated and provides information about and evaluations of educational and psychological tests.

Mental Measurement Yearbook in Print

Located in the Reference Collection - Call Number:

Ref. Z5814.P8 B932 1949-2007, 2010