Skip to main content

Urban Education and Urban Studies.: Writing and Citing

This guide serves as a resource to the interdisciplinary field of urban education, urban affairs and urban studies.

Writing and Citing

Quick and easy tools for citations.

Use any of these style guides listed for proper documentation. Check with your instructor for the preferred style guide.  For help with writing, contact the Spartan Success Center.

APA Frequently Asked Questions

A citation is a brief description of one specific information source, appearing in a bibliography, list of references, or a database.

Any words, ideas or images that you do not create yourself must be given credit.

Citing your sources lets your audience know the origins of your information.

Citations and Generators

Citations and Bibliographies

APA Style

APA Citation Style  (Long Island University)

APA Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)

APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue Online Writing Center)

APA Style (American Psychological Association)

APA Style Video (6:40 video) and APA citation examples by University of Maryland University College)

Chicago Style

Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue Online Writing Center)

Chicago Manual of Style: Author-Date System (Williams College)

Chicago Manual of Style: Documentary Note or Humanities Style (Williams College)

Chicago Manual of Style Online Quick Guide

Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide for Government Documents (Bowdoin College)

Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide for Government Documents (Radford University)

MLA Style

MLA Citation Wizard

MLA Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue Online Writing Center)

Citing Government Information Sources (MLA) by Patrick Ragains, Business and Government Information Librarian, University of Nevada, Reno

Specialized Style Guides

American Medical Association (AMA) Manual of Style Guide : 10th ed., 2007. This is a guide to the most frequently used entries.  Available at the MSU Libraries Reference Desk.

AMA Style Guide Sample References and Citations : Biomedical Editor

American Political Science Association (APSA) DocumentationUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center.

American Sociological Association (ASA) Format GuidePurdue University Online Writing Lab.

History Papers: Citing Electronic Information : Maurice Crouse, Department of History, the University of Memphis.

How to Cite Data : Michigan State University Libraries.

Citing Government Documents. Official government documents are rich sources of information for research in many areas of political science, but figuring out how to cite them can be a real challenge. Here are a couple of helpful guides about how to cite them:

Citation Generators & Citation Management Software

BibMe : Generated APA, Chicago, MLA, or Turabian.

DocsCite : DocsCite is a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format such as MLA or APA.

EndNote and EndNote Web : Many people capture bibliographic information using EndNote. EndNote allows one to generate citations for APA, Chicago Manual of Style, MLA, Turabian, Science and other journal-specific bibliographic citation styles.  Note: The MSU Library offers classes on how to use EndNote.

KnightCite Citation Creation Tool : This site generates citations in APA, MLA, and Chicago citation styles. Courtesy of the Calvin College Heckman Library.

Landmarks Citation Machine : Handles APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian citations.

North Carolina State's Citation Builder : Generated citations for both APA and MLA.

Mendeley : A free citation management Tool.  Note: The MSU Library offers classes on how to use Mendeley.

Papers2 : A reference manager with features for managing citations and PDFs, searching for and sharing scholarly articles, and adding citations to manuscripts.

Zotero : An add-on for the Firefox browser: helps collect, manage, and cite research sources.  Note: The MSU Library offers classes on how to use Zotero.

Print Citation Guides and Style Manuals

American Chemical Society Style Guide

American Mathematical Society Manual for Authors of Mathematical Papers

American Medical Association Manual of Style

American Political Science Association Style Manual for Political Science

American Society of Agronomy Publications Handbook and Style Manual

Associated Press Stylebook

Chicago Manual of Style

Cite Right

Complete Guide to Citing Government Information Resources: a Manual for Social Science and Business Research, 3rd edition

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

Turabian's Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations

Citations and Bibliographies

APA Style

APA Citation Style  (Long Island University)

APA Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)

APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue Online Writing Center)

APA Style (American Psychological Association)

APA Style Video (6:40 video) and APA citation examples by University of Maryland University College)

Chicago Style

Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue Online Writing Center)

Chicago Manual of Style: Author-Date System (Williams College)

Chicago Manual of Style: Documentary Note or Humanities Style (Williams College)

Chicago Manual of Style Online Quick Guide

Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide for Government Documents (Bowdoin College)

Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide for Government Documents (Radford University)

MLA Style

MLA Citation Wizard

MLA Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue Online Writing Center)

Citing Government Information Sources (MLA) by Patrick Ragains, Business and Government Information Librarian, University of Nevada, Reno

Specialized Style Guides

American Medical Association (AMA) Manual of Style Guide : 10th ed., 2007. This is a guide to the most frequently used entries.  Available at the MSU Libraries Reference Desk.

AMA Style Guide Sample References and Citations : Biomedical Editor

American Political Science Association (APSA) DocumentationUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center.

American Sociological Association (ASA) Format GuidePurdue University Online Writing Lab.

History Papers: Citing Electronic Information : Maurice Crouse, Department of History, the University of Memphis.

How to Cite Data : Michigan State University Libraries.

Citing Government Documents. Official government documents are rich sources of information for research in many areas of political science, but figuring out how to cite them can be a real challenge. Here are a couple of helpful guides about how to cite them:

Citation Generators & Citation Management Software

BibMe : Generated APA, Chicago, MLA, or Turabian.

DocsCite : DocsCite is a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format such as MLA or APA.

EndNote and EndNote Web : Many people capture bibliographic information using EndNote. EndNote allows one to generate citations for APA, Chicago Manual of Style, MLA, Turabian, Science and other journal-specific bibliographic citation styles.  Note: The MSU Library offers classes on how to use EndNote.

KnightCite Citation Creation Tool : This site generates citations in APA, MLA, and Chicago citation styles. Courtesy of the Calvin College Heckman Library.

Landmarks Citation Machine : Handles APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian citations.

North Carolina State's Citation Builder : Generated citations for both APA and MLA.

Mendeley : A free citation management Tool.  Note: The MSU Library offers classes on how to use Mendeley.

Papers2 : A reference manager with features for managing citations and PDFs, searching for and sharing scholarly articles, and adding citations to manuscripts.

Zotero : An add-on for the Firefox browser: helps collect, manage, and cite research sources.  Note: The MSU Library offers classes on how to use Zotero.

Print Citation Guides and Style Manuals

American Chemical Society Style Guide

American Mathematical Society Manual for Authors of Mathematical Papers

American Medical Association Manual of Style

American Political Science Association Style Manual for Political Science

American Society of Agronomy Publications Handbook and Style Manual

Associated Press Stylebook

Chicago Manual of Style

Cite Right

Complete Guide to Citing Government Information Resources: a Manual for Social Science and Business Research, 3rd edition

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

Turabian's Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations

 

Plagiarizing

Citations and Bibliographies

Use any of these style guides listed for proper documentation. Check with your instructor for the preferred style guide.  For help with writing, contact the Spartan Success Center.

EasyBib