Skip to main content

Nursing and Allied Health Information Resource Guide: Find Journal Articles in Databases

This research guide highlights some resources used for locating information. In addition to the resources below, please consult the Online Catalog or a Reference Librarian.

Notice

Please be aware that our database subscriptions are changing.  We will lose access to some full text content when the subscriptions lapse.  Databases affected are Ovid (LL&W) full text, PsycArticles (full text journals in PsychInfo) and Wiley Online Library. Remember: items can always be requested through InterLibrary Loan. Also, ask a librarian for assistance locating a specific item. 

Finding Journals in the Collection

Databases may provide full text access to journal articles, or they may only provide the citation (article title, Journal title, author, volume, issue, pages) and an abstract.  If you find only a citation and abstract, you have several ways to determine if you can obtain a copy of the article.

  1. Search for the title in the library's catalog or in the Periodical Holdings List to see if the library subscribes to the journal in print or in e-journal format.
  2. Check the journal's title or ISSN (International Standard Serial Number -- an 8 digit identifying code) in the e-journal locator.  If the title is in the list, follow the link and determine if the access is full text and what years are available.
  3. Check the journal title in the WorldCat database using the title or ISSN.  The database can indicate if NSU has the subscription or if another institution in the area has a subscription.
  4. If the journal is not held locally, use your Interlibrary Loan account to order a copy of the article.  Register for an Interlibrary Loan account using the ILL link in the Library Services tab.