Skip to main content

Education: Encyclopedias, Databases, Citations

This guide highlights resources related to education.

Credo Reference Online

CREDO Reference OnlineCredo Reference Online provides background information for the foundation of research in all disciplines.

Gale Virtual Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library  Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including Contemporary Black Biography.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online offers dictionary language reference and subject reference works, but there are less resources about history than other databases.

Why Not Wikipedia?

The Issue: Wikipedia

Anyone can write and edit the articles in Wikipedia.

The Awesomeness:

Because it is a collaborative, cooperative effort (aka. wiki) by volunteers around the world who are creating Wikipedia, anyone can write and edit the free online encyclopedia.

Purdue Owl

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals. It can be a good starting point for research when topics are connected with many disciplines.

JSTOR

JSTORJSTOR provides full-text scholarly journal articles from many disciplines. Current access is now available to the Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and VII.

Youtube: APA in Minutes: In-Text Citations. Humber Libraries: Published on Jun 3, 2013

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, with results shown by resource type.

History Databases

America: History and LifeAmerica: History and Life database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Archives UnboundArchives Unbound has primary source documents related to the Civil Rights Movement. Browse subject collections by following the browse link for "Your Collections." Subjects include the Freedom Riders, the FBI surveillance of SNCC, and the papers of Fanny Lou Hamer.

History VaultHistory Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle and Women's Studies provides access to primary source documents, and History Vault provides access to all six collections of the NAACP papers.

ProQuest Historical NewspapersHistorical Newspapers from ProQuest include the following titles: Atlanta Daily World, the Baltimore Afro-American, the New York Amsterdam News, the Norfolk Journal and Guide, and the Pittsburg Courier.

Available Databases

The library subscribes to many databases to provide popular magazines, scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, and newspapers. Browse electronic databases at Databases by Subject or Databases A to Z.

Video Resources

American History in VideoAmerican History in Video (through Alexander Street) provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.

Kanopy is a video streaming collection with over 26,000 films ranging from documentaries, indie, foreign, classic and blockbuster movies in several subjects and sub-subject areas. PBS, New Day Films, Kino Lorber, and California NewsReel are just a few of the content providers.

JoVE: Video Journal & Science Education is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. All JoVE articles are indexed in subject-relevant indexing sites, including PubMed/MEDLINE, SciFinder and Scopus.

Sons of Citation

Bibme.org