Skip to main content
Open Educational Resources (OER)
Search this Guide
Open Educational Resources (OER): History
This guide will provide resources to free and open education resources
VIVA Faculty Textbook Portal
Open Access Journals and Databases
Creative Commons Videos and Licenses
Creative Commons Images
OER by Disciplines
OER's in Elementary Education
Social Work Education
OER for Faculty
OER for Students
OER Sites for Educators
Open Text/OER Commons
OER Search Engines/Repositories List
Colleges and Universities/Music and Audio Resources
Let's Stay in Touch
MIT Open Courseware
MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses. Courses generally include lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more.
Provides over 80 history textbooks and offers the wide range of history subjects from American history to the Viking era.
Orange Grove Textbooks
Orange Grove provides users with over 150 book for students to gain access to for free.
American Historical Association
The primary professional society for historians. Includes special resources for teaching history.
Royal Historical Society
The Royal Historical Society was founded in 1868 and remains the foremost society in Great Britain promoting and defending the scholarly study of the past.
Resources for Students
CSU Image Project
Provides access to California State University image collections for teaching and research.
Online resources for scholars, teachers, and students in the humanities and social sciences. Contains a comprehensive collection of history discussion lists.
Sponsored by Primedia History Group, the publisher of popular history magazines. Designed to reach and encourage a popular audience to make history relevant to today and to understanding events.
History of Science Society
Offers an excellent introduction to sources on the History of Science. Search the Guide to the History of Science to learn about people, organizations, and publications.
Contains helpful information on events and popular documentaries, often by History professors.
World Wide Web Virtual Library History Central Catalogue
Recommended as a basic starting site to explore Web resources for all areas of history. Indexes history sites in a clear manner, so you can search by research method, era, historical topic, or country and region.
A subject gateway to scholarly information in history. Emphasis on Anglo-American history. Maintained by the State and University Library at Gottingen, Germany.
Providing online courses and guides for students to access and learn for their own enjoyment and educational purposes.
An overall guide for History, including various History courses such as American Civics to European History, just to name a few.
SCHOLARS' GUIDE TO WWW
A good starting site that includes recommended resources in history. By Richard Jensen.
Jan 28, 2019 5:16 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
free testing resources
open education resources
Contact the Library
700 Park Avenue
Norfolk, VA 23504
Phone: (757) 823-2418