Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources (OER): Colleges and Universities/Music and Audio Resources

This guide will provide resources to free and open education resources

OER in Colleges and Universities

Affordable Learning Georgia

A University System of Georgia (USG) initiative to promote student success by providing affordable textbook alternatives

California University (US), webcast.berkeley
Cape Town University
Capliano University (CA), OpenCourseWare
Carnegie Mellon University Open Learning Initiative
City University of New York (US), Podcast Lectures
Delft University of Technology (TU Delft) (NL), OpenCourseWare (OCW)
Dixe State College of Utah (US), OpenCourseWare
European Graduate School
Falmouth, University College
Foothill College (US), Sofia Open Content Initiative
Harvard University (US), Open Learning Initiative
Heather Braum blog, from NE Kansas Library System
Hong Kong Open University (HK), Open Learning (renamed Knowledge Network
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School (US), OpenCourseWare Project
King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals (SA)
Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
Michigan University (US), Open.Michigan - Education
Middle East Technical University (TR), OpenCourseWare
MIT Open Courseware
Monterey Institute for Technology and Education (US), National Repository of Online Courses (NROC
Nagoya University (JP), OpenCourseWare
National Chiao Tung University (TW)
New Jersey Institute of Technology (US
New South Wales University (AU), eLearning Channel
Northern Virginia Community College's Extended Learning Institute
Northwestern Michigan College OER LibGuide
Nottingham University (UK)
Notre Dame University (US)OpenCourseWare
Open.Michigan
Open Textbook Library- University of Minnesota and partners
Oxford University (UK), Podcasts
ParisTech (FR), Graduate School
Pennsylvania State University (US), OER Courseware Modules
Seoul National University (KR), SNU Opencourseware
Southern Queensland University (AU), OpenCourseWare
Stanford University (US), Stanford Engineering Everywhere (SEE)
Tufts OpenCourseWare
UC Berkeley
University of Maryland OER LibGuide
University of North Carolina Greensboro- mini grant project
Utah State University, OpenCourseWare
Waseda University, OpenCourseWare (Japan)
Washington University, OpenUW
webcast.berkeley
Western Cape University (ZA), Free Courseware Project
WISC-Online
Yale University, Open Yale Courses

Music and Audio

  • Creative Commons Music Communities a list of music communities that utilize CC tools, typically by enabling users to upload content under CC licenses.
  • Digital Audio Collections from the Library of Congress American Memory Collections
  • Free Music Archive
  • NPR Music Online
  • Audio Collections from The Internet Archive
  • Global Music Archive
  • Internet Archive
  • Sound Cloud
  • Jamendo
  • Voices from the Dust Bowl: The Charles L. Todd and Robert Sonkin Migrant Worker Collection
  • Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier: The Henry Reed Collection
  • Freeplay Music
  • Omaha Indian Music
  • Now What a Time: Blues, Gospel, and the Fort Valley Music Festivals, 1938-1943
  • The John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip
  • Hispano Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande
  • Emile Berliner and the Birth of the Recording Industry
  • Captain Pearl R. Nye: Life on the Ohio and Erie Canal
  • California Gold: Northern California Folk Music from the Thirties
  • The American Variety Stage
  • Variations-Digital Music Library
  • Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican-American Recordings
  • The Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature Online
  • MacEdward Leach and the Songs of Atlantic Canada
  • Judaica Sound Archives

Some of the content was provided by Christopher E. Mehrens, Ph.D., M.L.S.,  Administrator and Associate Librarian Head, Music Library at Arizona State University Libraries.

Open Video Resources

  • Museum of the Moving Image
  • Open Video Project
  • Vimeo Creative Commons
  • WikiMedia Commons
  • Yovisto