Skip to main content

Community Support Groups and Outreach for Students and Staff: Virginia Beach Shelters

This guide will provide resources and information to enable communities to address the needs of students and staff experiencing hardships

Virginia Beach Shelters

undefined

Connection Point an assessment and referral center for people who are experiencing homelessness or who are at-risk of becoming homeless to access assistance in the City of Virginia Beach. 757-227-5932.

Homeless Housing Options City of Virginia Beach

Judeo-Christian Outreach, Inc. (JCOC) provides shelter for qualified adults and families with children.  1053 Virginia Beach Blvd., Virginia Beach, Dick Powell, 491-2846.
 
The Lighthouse Center – Temporary evening shelter during the winter for the homeless and their families. A day program for homeless adults. The center offers shower facilities, case management and life skills training, plus an address and telephone number for homeless individuals to receive mail and phone calls. 825 18th Street. Virginia Beach.  437-4911.
 
Love and Caring Ministries provides emergency shelter to single women and women with children. Contact Love and Caring Ministries at 430-4101; 2804 Salem Road, Virginia Beach VA 23456.
 
Potters House - provides services to the homeless, the working poor, and those in a crisis, who are residents of Virginia Beach. Located at 1709 Pacific Ave., Virginia Beach, 757-428-7728. Hosted by Virginia Beach United Methodist Church.
 
Seton Youth Shelters provides 24-hour emergency shelter for youth ages 9 – 18.  This program serves runaway/homeless youth and youth in crisis within their family, school and/or community. Seton Youth Shelters operates two shelters in Virginia Beach, one for boys and the other for girls. Contact at 498-4357; 3333-28 Virginia Beach Blvd., Virginia Beach, VA 23452. 
 
Samaritan House provides short-term emergency shelter and support services through Samaritan House in sites around Virginia Beach. Subject to space availability. Eligibility: households with children who are homeless and victims of domestic violence. Contact at 631-0710 or at 430-2120 for the 24-hour crisis hotline.
 
Virginia Beach Community Development Corporation (VBCDC) provides emergency shelter for families who are homeless for up to 90 days. Call 463-9516. 
 
Winter Shelter Program (Operates October-April)
Provides emergency shelter during in various community churches for the homeless through Volunteers of America. Eligibility: Individuals who meet the behavioral requirements of the shelter program operator. Participants are picked up and dropped off at designated sites. Shelter and an evening meal are provided. Contact at 437-4911; 810 18th Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451.
 
ADDITIONAL RESOURCES
 
Transitional Housing for Homeless Veterans
Vetshouse, Inc. operates four housing units providing limited-term housing for homeless veterans. Contact at 724-8614; fax to 424-6492 (must call ahead); P.O. Box 23466, Virginia Beach, VA 23466.
 
Permanent Rental Housing
Provides low cost rental housing at scattered sites throughout Virginia Beach. Eligibility: households who meet income requirements. Contact the Virginia Beach Community Development Corporation (VBCDC) at 463-9516; 2400 Potters Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23454.
 
Housing and Neighborhood Preservation

Direct: (757) 385-5750 | Email: housenp@vbgov.com