Skip to main content

Non-traditional Students: Other Library Resources

Non-traditional students are known as adult students, adult learners, lifelong learners, or older students

Other Library Resources

Library Research and Information Desk

 Ask Us! This desk is staffed with a librarian most of the hours that the library is open. Please feel free to stop here and ask for research and finding assistance at any time. You can reach someone at this desk by phone at 757-823-8517, via IM chat, by e-mail . Look for the Ask Us link on the library homepage.

 

This ASK A Librarian online service is available to students, faculty, and staff at Norfolk State University and is primarily designed for brief, factual queries. If your question requires extensive research assistance, please contact the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library Information Services Desk at 757-823-8517.

Library Staff will respond to your question within two business days (weekends and holidays excluded).


 

Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA)

Through VIVA, students and faculty at institutions of higher education in the Commonwealth have access to digital and print journals, books, reference sources, and databases that are essential for educational success and research enterprise. Whether you are at a community college or a large public university, a small liberal arts college or an elite private university, the same VIVA is available to you.

Read more about this free service here.

Special Collection (Marshall Collection)

Marshall Collection
     This is a collection by and about African Americans.  The collection consists of outstanding, scholarly books written by and about African Americans. These materials are available for checkout by faculty, staff, students, educators and area residents to provide additional knowledge about the African-American experience.

 

Exercise Equipment

Exercise equipment to empower a healthy body/healthy mind.  The equipment is located on 2d and 3rd floor of the library

Distance Learning

Access Library resources as a distance education learner?

Norfolk State University supports all NSU students, regardless of location. Most of your research needs can be found on the Library's website, including your ability to email a Librarian, search the Library's catalog, and search over a hundred online resources. Please click the Distance and Online Learning link to access list of services provided for you as an online learner.

More resources can be found by clicking the following links. If you would like additional information about the various services available to you as an online learner, please call the Information Services Department at 757-823-8517.

Gain a better understanding of Fair Use and Copyright Guidelines?

The Lyman Beecher Brooks Library has developed a list guidelines for the use of copyrighted materials. Please click the Copyright Guidelines link to access guidelines for educational fair use as well as fair use exceptions in the classroom.

Obtain bibliographic instructions as a student at a distance?

Yes, please check the Library Events Calendar to determine the dates for the synchronous bibliographic instruction dates for distance education learners.  Bibliographic instructions workshops will be offered via a web conferencing tool.  Sessions will be recorded and posted for playback.

Access the on-demand mini-tutorials provided by the Library?

The Lyman Beecher Brooks Library provides instructional mini-tutorials on a variety of subjects, such as:

  • Basic Information Literacy
  • Basic Search Techniques
  • Primary Sources
  • And many more...

You may view or download the mini-tutorials directly from the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library's iTunes U site.

Library Media Center

The Library Media Center allows students to check-out laptops, iPods, iPads, digital and video cameras, DVDs, graph calculators, editing software, projectors, headphones, and other multimedia equipment.

 

Educational Resources Center (ERC)

Educational Resources Center (ERC):

     The Educational Resources Center (ERC), located on first floor of the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library, is a unique collection of pre-K through Grade 12 materials that supports the teacher education programs at Norfolk State University.
     The ERC provides education students with resources to enhance their collegiate experience and to help them prepare for their careers as teachers. The ERC collection includes picture books (Easy), fiction and non-fiction books, elementary, and middle-level books and supporting materials in all subject areas. 

     Recently the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library launched a story-hour project with the NSU Child Development Laboratory, a program affiliated with the School of Education. The Child Development Laboratory is a full time service program serving children ages 2 ½ through 4 ½ years old.  

Note: See video below

Individual Research Appointments

Individual Research Appointments are made for one-on-one research assistance with a librarian.

These are wonderful if you are struggling and trying to find articles, books and other research materials.  Take advantage of this free service!

Free Scanning

Zeutschel  is a self-service scanner work station that is housed on the first floor of the library which gives the students the options to scan, email or save information to an USB drive, or print. Scanning is free with an USB drive.  Public copiers are also available to use in the library for a fee.

Harrison B. Wilson Archives

The Harrison B. Wilson Archives

     The archives area houses the historical records of Norfolk State University; its students, faculty, administrators, departments, organizations, and athletic programs.  The archives have a mission to collect and preserve the historical records of African-Americans in Virginia.

Trivia!

Lyman Beecher Brooks Library...  who was the library named after?

 

Lyman B. Brooks
President
 37 Years of Active Service ~ 1938 - 1975

Lyman Beecher Brooks -- In 1938, he became Director of the Norfolk Unit of Virginia Union University (now Norfolk State University). During his thirty-seven year illustrious career as the chief administrative officer of the College (1938-1975), he built the school from a three-classroom junior college with five teachers to an eighteen building campus with a faculty and staff of 375 and 6,300 students. Under the able leadership of Dr. Brooks achieved numerous milestones. In 1942, the College became Norfolk Polytechnic College. Another name change came in 1944, the college when the Virginia General Assembly voted to make the school's name the Norfolk Division of Virginia State College, mandating it to become a part of Virginia State College.

In September 1955, the school was relocated to a 55-acre campus on Corprew Avenue. The first degree (Bachelor's degree) was presented by the institution in 1958. The College was separated from Virginia State College in 1969; therefore, Norfolk State College became an independent, four-year degree-granting institution with its own Board of Visitors and its own President.