Skip to main content

Non-traditional Students: Veterans and Academic Integrity

Non-traditional students are known as adult students, adult learners, lifelong learners, or older students

Veterans Affairs

undefined

Thank you veterans!!

Veteran Affairs help returning veterans finish their collegiate career.  They help with intent forms and offer peer-to-peer counseling.  

ROTC

NSU supports ROTC programs in both the Navy and Army:

 AROTC

  NROTC

Other Services

Nontraditional students can experience stress just like typical students. In fact, their stress is sometimes more intense due to their greater responsibilities and adjustments. For returning students, course requirements and technology usage may be very different than when they were originally in college.

 

Here are some campus services that may be beneficial if you are experiencing  difficulties:

Career Services
Director: Mr. Nash Montgomery
Career Services is responsible for the overall planning, development and implementation of the University's career services program for students and alumni.

Counseling Center
Director: Ms. Vanessa Caldwell-Jenkins
Counseling Services provides a range of counseling services for NSU students at no charge. Services include individual and group counseling, crisis intervention, and educational outreach programming.

Dining Services
Director: Ms. Sharon Williams
Thompson Hospitality provides NSU with the very best in food quality and service. By constantly working to keep up with the ever-changing trends in campus dining, we are able to offer a terrific mix of traditional menu options as well as popular natural brands.

Disability Services
Director/ADA Coordinator : Mrs. Beverly Harris
Supporting Students through Disability Services (SDSS) provides services for currently enrolled students with documented disabilities in accordance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.

International Student Services
Director: Mrs. Beverly Harris
The Office of International Student Services assists international students and scholars with matters related to immigration, including processing immigration petitions. The Office also provides services and programs to enhance international students' academic and personal success.

Learning Communities
Director: Mr. Jonathan Walker
Learning Communities support the mission of Norfolk State University by enabling faculty to work with students both in and outside of the classroom. Using intentional curricular and co-curricular programming, we foster enlightened living communities that maximize students’ academic and personal growth.

Residence Life/Housing
Director: Mrs. Faith Fitzgerald
The Office of Residence Life / Housing provides a living and learning environment that both challenges and supports the personal, social, recreational, cultural, and academic development of its residents.

Spartan Health Center
Director: Dr. John Anderson
The Spartan Health Center, located in Spartan Station, provides basic health services for NSU students, including diagnosis and treatment of minor illnesses and injuries, emergency medical care, and health education.

Student Activities
Director: Ms. Tarrye Venable
The Office of Student Activities is responsible for the coordination and implementation of a creative, responsive, and diverse co-curricular program at NSU. The Office is located in the New Student Center, which supports a variety of cultural, educational, recreational, and social activities.

Leadership and Student Engagement
Director: Ms. Nicole Gray
The Office of Leadership and Student Engagement provides leadership, support and co-curricular engagement in the areas of Fraternity and Sorority Life and Leadership Programs at Norfolk State University. In accordance with the Core Assets of NSU, we identify, support and challenge a talented student body that is committed to achieving excellence in every facet of their university experience and future endeavors.

Student Rights and Responsibilities
Coordinator: Mr. Jonathan Walker
The Office of Student Rights and Responsibilities (OSRR) supports the mission of the University by promoting a safe and inclusive environment conducive to transforming lives and empowering individuals through the fair and impartial administration of the Code of Student Conduct.  We educate students on their responsibilities as a member of the Norfolk State University community while encouraging students’ moral and ethical development.

Student Support Services
Director: Ms. Valerie Holmes
Student Support Services is a federally-funded program which provides a variety of supportive services for students who meet one or more of the following criteria: low income family background; first-generation college student; academically deficient; or physically disabled.

Veteran Affairs
Director: Mr. Nash Montgomery
The Veteran Affairs Office provides registration for VA benefits, counseling, and general admissions assistance for veterans, active-duty, reservists, and their dependents.

Academic Integrity

Most colleges and most professors frown on plagiarism. There should be a section in your in your College catalog about academic honesty that includes a warning about what can happen to a student who is caught plagiarizing.  There are penalties for plagiarism. It could be a failing grade on a plagiarized paper, failing and being expelled from school.

It does not matter if your plagiarism is unintentional. If you use a source of information that you don't properly identify or cite, you are guilty of plagiarism whether you meant to omit it or not. How severely you can be punished, even for unintentional plagiarism, will depend largely on your instructor and the policies of your academic institution.

We'll show you how to cite and attribute information retrieved from electronic or other unconventional sources. Also, you will learn how to:

  1. properly attribute sources you use in your papers
  2. properly quote material
  3. accurately summarize material
  4. carefully paraphrase material

 

Student Handbook

Follow the Student Handbook and avoid academic dishonesty.