Skip to main content

Library Resources for Faculty: Research Support

An overview of library resources pertinent to Norfolk State University faculty.

DPLA

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills in history, literature, and culture. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide. These sets were created and reviewed by the teachers on the DPLA's Education Advisory Committee

Research Assistance for Students

Not Sure Where to Start Your Research?

If you are not sure where to start your research, here are a few tips.

Make sure you have chosen an appropriate subject and then pose a question about your subject. This will give you direction to assist you in focusing on your topic.

Before you start your search for information, think about what you already know about your subject and develop a research strategy.

Look through the Databases by Subject list on the library's website and choose the subject related to your topic. When you click on a subject, you'll see a list of recommended databases.

Try this also:  Look through the alphabetical list of databases

Still not sure?

Try one of the following multi-purpose academic databases (please see below).

Multi-Purpose Academic Databases

A great database for beginning searches to find scholarly journal articles and popular magazines articles covering all topics.
 
This database is an archive and will not contain information on current topics within the last 2-5 years. Use this database to find full-text articles of core scholarly journals in the Arts and Sciences.
 
If you're not sure what discipline your topic falls under, use this database.

Now what?

Once you have identified some appropriate sources in our databases, you must locate them - either online, in the Library's stacks, or request them through InterLibrary Loan.


 

Create Links to Library Resources

Faculty and students may create persistent links to library resources to embed in Blackboard.

Persistent links are not always found in your browser window. Do not copy and paste the URL from the browser window of the selected resource unless directed to do so.

*NOTE to FACULTY: Be sure to check your library resource links in Blackboard. Licensing of digital scholarly content can vary. Ebook and streaming video titles are especially affected by copyright restrictions and could be removed from our subscribed resources without the consent of the Library. Check links before courses begin to ensure access or to replace the resource. Contact the Library with any questions at 757-823-8517.

Creating links in Films on Demand

Select any title in your Films on Demand results list and click on it to get to the detailed record.  Scroll to the bottom of the page and copy the "Title URL" as seen below.  Paste into Blackboard.

Creating Links in Academic Search Complete

Click on any title in your Academic Search Complete results to get to the detailed view of the record.  Go to the citation and look for the permalink symbol. Click on the permalink symbol and  copy the URL as seen below.  Paste into Blackboard.

WITHOUT WORDS: MUSIC AS COMMUNICATION FOR CHILDREN WITH AUTISM.

Authors:
Markworth, Lindsay
Source:
Qualitative Inquiries in Music Therapy. 2014, Vol. 9, p1-42. 42p.
Document Type:
Article
Subject Terms:
*MUSIC therapy
*AUTISTIC children
*SOCIAL interaction
*COMMUNICATIVE competence
Geographic Terms:
UNITED States
Abstract:
The article discusses the use of music therapy for the communicative nature of music of children with autism in the U.S. It highlights the importance to develop effective therapeutic methods to the young children with autism which demonstrates impairment in social interaction and communication skills. It explores on the primary concepts of Creative Music Therapy that reflect the fundamental values of Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy.
ISSN:
1559-7326
Accession Number:
97589610
 
 

Key Resources for Faculty