Skip to main content

Reading and Lexile Scores: Databases that Support Lexile

This guide will give a brief overview on the basic concepts and uses of the Lexile Framework for reading

Databases that Supports Searching by Lexile Reading Levels

Databases A to Z

In many of the library's online databases, it is possible to select articles within a Lexile range. Use the "advanced search" option.

Most of the databases also offer audio options and translation capabilities.

*Reminder: For off-campus access, you must be logged into MyNSU.

The databases that are highlighted below are owned by LBB Library and support a Lexile Reading Level limiter on the search screen:

  • Advanced Placement Source (aqh)
  • Associates Programs Source (oih)  LBB
  • Associates Programs Source Plus (p6h)
  • Australia / New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre (apr)
  • Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre (anh)
  • Biography Collection (b4h)
  • Biography Collection Complete (b5h)
  • Biography Reference Center (b6h)
  • Book Collection Nonfiction: Elementary School Edition (n4h)
  • Book Collection Nonfiction: High School Edition (n9h)
  • Book Collection Nonfiction: Middle School Edition (n8h)
  • Book Collection: Nonfiction (ndh)
  • Book Index with Reviews (kdh)
  • Britannica Online Collection (qoh)
  • Canadian Literary Centre (cjh)
  • Canadian Points of View Reference Centre (p3h)
  • Canadian Reference Centre (rch)
  • Columbia Granger's Poetry Database: School Edition (pgh)
  • English Language Learner Reference Center (elr)
  • General Science Collection (gsh)
  • History Reference Center (khh)
  • MagillOnLiterature Plus (mjh)
  • MainFile (mfi)
  • MAS Complete (mat)
  • MAS High Search Main Edition (mae)
  • MAS Ultra - School Edition (ulh)
  • Middle Search Main Edition (mme)
  • Middle Search Plus (mih)
  • New Scientist Archive (n2h)
  • Newspaper Source (nfh)
  • Newspaper Source Plus (n5h)  LBB
  • Newspaper Source Select (nss)
  • NoveList (noh)
  • NoveList K-8 (nnh)
  • Novelist Plus (neh)
  • NoveList Plus K-8 (njh)
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context  LBB
  • Poetry & Short Story Reference Center (prf)
  • Points of View Reference Center (pwh)
  • Primary Search (prh)
  • Primary Search Main Edition (pme)
  • Science Reference Center (sch)
  • Science Reference Center Main Edition (sme)
  • Texas Reference Center (tih)
  • TOPICsearch (tth)
  • UK/Ireland Reference Centre (ukh)
  • Vocational and Career Collection (voh)
  • Vocational Studies Complete (v1h)
  • Vocational Studies Premier (vsh)
  • World History Collection (wdh)

Notes:

  1. EBSCO is presently able to assign Lexile levels to articles in HTML format only.
  2. Limiting a search by Lexile level using preset menu selections is generally available only in Advanced Search, if it is available at all.
  3. If the specific Lexile range you want set as a limiter is not available in Advanced Search, this limit can be set precisely using this command syntax:
         global warming AND LX 100-1000 [there is a space between LX and 100-1000]
  4. Some databases offer in Advanced Search the ability to limit search results to articles that are equal to, less than or greater than a specified number of pages. If this feature is not available in Advanced Search, it can be set using this command syntax:
         global warming and PG 1-10 [there is a space between PG and 1-10]
         global warming and PG 1- [this limiter equates to: one or more pages]
  5. The command syntax for (3) and (4) above can also be combined:
         global warming AND PG 1-10 AND LX 850-1050
  6. All articles in HTML format can be "listened" to at different speeds using text-so-speech. The ability to listen to articles being read is important to support individual students with different reading abilities as well as group listening.
  7. To limit searches to only articles that have the "listen" function, add the following command syntax:
         global warming AND LX 1-

How do I Limit my Searches by Lexile Reading Level in EBSCO Databases?

How do I limit my searches by Lexile Reading Level?
Several EBSCO databases and interfaces include the ability to limit search results by Lexile Reading Level.

To limit searches by Lexile Reading Level:

  1. Click the Advanced Search link to access all available limiters.
  2. Select a reading level from the Lexile Reading Level limiter.

Additionally, you can search by Lexile in many EBSCO databases using the LX search tag. To see whether the database supports the LX limiter, click the Database Help link on the search screen and scroll down to the Searchable Fields area. If the LX limiter appears, you can enter LX and a Lexile range along with your search terms.

For example, in some databases, you could enter hurricanes AND LX 500 - 750 to find articles about hurricanes within that Lexile range.

 

When searching, why do I receive results that include Lexile scores outside my specified range?
When a Lexile level is specified in search parameters, EBSCO products are designed to include results for which the Lexile level deviates 100 points above/below your specified Lexile criteria. This ensures that users receive all possible results within a reasonable Lexile range.

If you do not specify a Lexile level in your search parameters, the EBSCO interface you are using returns all available results, potentially including results that do not have a Lexile ranking assigned. When you receive results that do not have a Lexile level, this indicates that the interface/profile you are using includes a database that does not provide Lexile rankings.

To view a list of the EBSCO databases that your profile is accessing, do one of the following:

OR

  1. Click the Help button in the top right corner of the interface.
  2. Locate the Database Help section at the bottom of Help page. All the EBSCO databases that you are currently accessing are listed.
  3. If available, click the Title Lists link located at the top right corner of the interface. All the EBSCO databases that you are currently accessing are listed.

Lexile Limiters

 

Reader and Genre:

Readers Age

Grade

Category 

Publication Date

Genre  

Author and Publisher:

Language

Author/Illustrator

Series

Publisher

Country of Publication

Special Collection

Word Search Criteria:

Singular and Plural Forms

Word Variants

Exact Phrase

Exact Words

Find Records Containing:

All of the Words

Any of the Words

Search Specific Fields:

Author /Illustrator

Title

Series

Annotation

Subject Headings

Awards

Best Books

Reading Lists

Review

Reviewer

ISBN

Dewey Decimal

Special Search Qualifiers:

Children's and YA only

Professional

Award Winners and Honor Books

Books with Author/Illustrator Links