Skip to main content

Human Anatomy and Physiology Resources: Journals

This research guide contains resources on the study of human anatomy.

Physiology e-Journals

BMC Physiology

 
from 2001 to present in PubMed Central

Clinical Physiology

 
from 1997 to 2001 in Wiley InterScience E-Journals and Wiley-Blackwell Journals (Frontfile Content)
from 01/01/1998 to 11/30/2001 in Academic Search Complete

Experimental Physiology
from 1999 to present in Wiley InterScience E-Journals and Wiley-Blackwell Journals (Frontfile Content)

 
Journal of General Physiology
from 1918 to present in Single Journals
from 1918 to 6 months ago in PubMed Central

 
Journal of Physiology
from 1878 to 1 year ago in PubMed Central

from 1997 to present in Wiley InterScience E-Journals and Wiley-Blackwell Journals (Frontfile Content)

 

Physiology from 1998 to present in Single Journals

Finding Articles

 

Getting Started

Off Campus Access

This page will assist you in locating, navigating and accessing articles in the Lyman Beecher Brooks subscription databases to lead you through the research process.

Log-in from the library's home page here or log-in from MyNSU

Finding the Right Database

Under the search tab on the library's web page, you will find two options for locating the best database for your research.

Option 1: Search or browse our A -Z list of all databases.

Option 2: Search databases by Subject.

Can't find the Article you want at LBB?

If you can't find any articles in any library database or in our physical collections, you can use Interlibrary Loan to request articles from other institutions.

Evaluating Science Articles

Examine the following criteria to evaluate a scientific article:   Cause & Effect, Author, Research, and Soundness of Data (CARS)

Cause & Effect

  • Is causation versus correlation distinguished?
  • Is there a control group?
  • Are all possible factors controlled for in the experiment?
  • Do the results and conclusions stick to the findings?

Author

  • Who is the author?
  • Who published the work?  Is it a peer-reviewed source?
  • Is there a funding or institutional affiliation?  Could this lead to bias?  Are they "selling" you something?
  • Is the article objective or does it reflect the opinions/preconceptions of the researcher or reporter?

Research

  • How recent is the research?  Do more recent studies contradict these results?
  • Are key references or sources cited that are within 5 years of publication date?
  • Does it follow the conventions of a specific style (APA or CSA)?
  • Does it cover all sides of the topic?

Soundness of Data

  • How was the data gathered?
  • Are all data equally useful?
  • How big should the sample size be?  Is it representative?
  • Was instrument(s) used reliable (consistently measures) and valid (measures what you want)?
  • Are limitations discussed?

Anatomy e-Journals

American Journal of Anatomy Alternate Title:Developmental Dynamics
from 1996 to present in Wiley InterScience Journals and Wiley-Blackwell Journals (Frontfile Content)

 
Anatomical Record

 

Anatomy Research International

from 01/01/2011 to present in Academic Search Complete
from 2011 to present in PubMed Central
Clinical Anatomy
 
from 1996 to present in Wiley InterScience Journals and Wiley-Blackwell Journals (Frontfile Content)

 
Journal of Anatomy
from 1916 to 2 years ago in PubMed Central
from 1997 to present in Wiley InterScience E-Journals and Wiley-Blackwell Journals (Frontfile Content)
from 01/01/2003 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete

 

Journal of Anatomy and Physiology

 
from 1867 to 1916 in PubMed Central