Skip to main content

ENG 101: Frederick Douglass

This is an introduction to the way we find academic resources.

Types of Assignments

This part of the guide will be updated with assignments that some ENG 101 classes may be assigned. This page is specifically about researching Frederick Douglass. 

Resource Highlights

Contemporary Black Biography

Provides biographical profiles of important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields.

The Fugitive Slave Law in the Life of Frederick Douglass: An American Slave and Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin

Explores the implications of the Fugitive Slave Law and the impact of Frederick Douglass and Harriet Beecher Stowe, after the U.S. revived the Fugitive Slave Law in 1850.

Credo Reference Online

CREDO Reference OnlineCredo Reference Online provides background information for the foundation of research in all disciplines.

JSTOR

JSTORJSTOR provides full-text scholarly journal articles from many disciplines. Current access is now available to the Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and VII.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, with results shown by resource type.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals. It can be a good starting point for research when topics are connected with many disciplines.

History Databases

America: History and LifeAmerica: History and Life database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Archives UnboundArchives Unbound has primary source documents related to the Civil Rights Movement. Browse subject collections by following the browse link for "Your Collections." Subjects include the Freedom Riders, the FBI surveillance of SNCC, and the papers of Fanny Lou Hamer.

History VaultHistory Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle and Women's Studies provides access to primary source documents, and History Vault provides access to all six collections of the NAACP papers.

ProQuest Historical NewspapersHistorical Newspapers from ProQuest include the following titles: Atlanta Daily World, the Baltimore Afro-American, the New York Amsterdam News, the Norfolk Journal and Guide, and the Pittsburg Courier.

Video Resources

American History in VideoAmerican History in Video (through Alexander Street) provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.

Kanopy is a video streaming collection with over 26,000 films ranging from documentaries, indie, foreign, classic and blockbuster movies in several subjects and sub-subject areas. PBS, New Day Films, Kino Lorber, and California NewsReel are just a few of the content providers.

JoVE: Video Journal & Science Education is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. All JoVE articles are indexed in subject-relevant indexing sites, including PubMed/MEDLINE, SciFinder and Scopus.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery Historical Documents

Explore part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Primary Sources

Read the words of Frederick Douglass (E-Book Format and Physical Books)

Primary Sources

The Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass

Frederick Douglass was an ex-slave and a great orator in early 19th century. His autobiography details his experiences as a slave and is considered the most famous such work, though many similar were written by his contemporaries. This work also influenced and fueled the abolitionist movement, in which Douglass was an important figure.

Frederick Douglass: Selected Speeches and Writings

Frederick Douglass: Selected Speeches and Writings presents the most significant, insightful, and elegant short works of Douglass's massive corpus.

My Bondage and My Freedom

The autobiographies My Bondage and My Freedom picks up where Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass left off. This volume recounts more gripping details of Douglass' transformation from illiterate slave to leading light of the abolitionist movement and offers an extended philosophical meditation on the meaning of slavery.

In the Words of Frederick Douglass

The editors have compiled nearly seven hundred quotations by Douglass that demonstrate the breadth and strength of his intellect as well as the eloquence with which he expressed his political and ethical principles.