Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports on positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. It contains nearly 300,000 records, full-text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Natural and man-made environmental resources – fresh water, clean air, forests, grasslands, marine resources, and agro-ecosystems – provide sustenance and a foundation for social and economic development.
The Environment Statistics Section of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) is engaged in the development of methodologies, data collection, technical cooperation, and coordination in the fields of environmental statistics and indicators.
The Environmental Data Explorer is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP.
This web site is sponsored by the USGS Earthquake Hazards Program, as part of our effort to provide and apply relevant earthquake science information and knowledge to reduce deaths, injuries, and property damage from earthquakes.
The system examines millions of images and decides for each one whether it's a graph, chart or table – whether it has numerical content. The core technology is patented computer vision algorithms that decide whether an image is numerical – and they're accurate (about 98%). But the huge majority of images on the internet are not graphs etc. So even though the accuracy is high, you will still get some non-numerical images.
Provides comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources, supplies management, water legislation, water quality wastewater collection,and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.
Global Issues in Context ties together sources to present a rich analysis of issues - social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural - and headlines in world hot spots. Global Issues in Context focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues.
NOAA's former three data centers have merged into the National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI).
The demand for high-value environmental data and information has dramatically increased in recent years. To improve our ability to meet that demand, NOAA’s former three data centers—the National Climatic Data Center, the National Geophysical Data Center, and the National Oceanographic Data Center, which includes the National Coastal Data Development Center—have merged into the National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI).