Skip to main content

Research: Home

Manage your research, use databases more efficiently, understand how the library is organized

Getting Started

undefined

Here are a few tips to start your research.

Make sure you have chosen an appropriate subject and then pose a question about your subject. This will give you direction to assist you in focusing on your topic.

Before you start your search for information, think about what you already know about your subject and develop a research strategy.

Look through the Databases by Subject list on the library's website and choose the subject related to your topic. When you click on a subject, you'll see a list of recommended databases.

Try this also:

Still not sure?

  • Try one of the following multi-purpose academic databases (please see below).
  • Or send an E-mail to a Reference Librarian by completing this online form.

Multi-Purpose Academic Databases

A great database for beginning searches to find scholarly journal articles and popular magazines articles covering all topics.
This database is an archive and will not contain information on current topics within the last 2-5 years. Use this database to find full-text articles of core scholarly journals in the Arts and Sciences.
If you're not sure what discipline your topic falls under, use this database. Start in Google but do not stay in Google.
 
If time management is a problem for you, use the Assignment Scheduler 

Start Searching

undefined

Where you search depends on your topic and what you need to know.

Need an overview? Try searching Gale Virtual Reference Library or Opposing Viewpoints in Context.
 

Need a little more detail? Search for books on your topic
 

Need some peer-reviewed articles? Try a subject database - or ERIC, which  is great for topics on education.