Skip to main content

SWK 820: Getting Started

class assignment

Where to Start...

undefined

 

For background information, start in Google but don't stay there.

The library database, Credo Reference Online will naturally narrow your search, improve your research, increase your comfort in academic research and support your critical thinking.    Credo is our academic Google!      Try the Mirror Effect

undefined

                                                   

Google     

ethnic minority and working class families                                   

Credo        

ethnic minority and working class families

Where is My Article?

If the article is in the database, you will see one of these icons below the citation. Just click on the icon to get to the article.. 

  


This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available.  If an article isn't available online or in print, you may request it via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Core Databases

undefined

Where you search depends on your topic and what you need to know.

Need an overview? Try searching Gale Virtual Reference Library or Opposing Viewpoints in Context.

Need background information? Try searching Credo Reference Online.
 

Need a little more detail? Search for books on your topic. You don't have to read the entire book.

These  Databases   are good starting points for finding articles that document research in Ethnic minority families.

 

Academic Search Complete

Counseling and Therapy Video

Criminal Justice Abstracts

Dissertations & Theses Global 

Education Research Complete

ProjectMuse
 
PsycInfo
 

 

 

 

Site Searches

undefined

Government Website Searching ethnic minority families site:.gov

Adding quotations makes it an exact search.

Educational Sites Searches ethnic minority families site:.edu

PowerPoint Sites Searching:    ethnic minority families site ppt

The Scary Page From Google         undefined

If you see this page after you run a few of these searches, take it as a huge compliment. Running searches that have this level of sophistication causes Google to be suspicious of you. Basically, it's Google saying, "Wait, most people don't know how to search like this. Who are you and how did you learn how to really use the Internet."

Limit Your Search

Most databases also allow you to limit your search or refine your results set by:

  • date
  • language
  • age
  • subject
  • gender
  • special population
  • women
  • children
  • geographical
  • material type (eg. Review articles, which will provide an overview of research on a particular topic)
  • journal title

 

 

Searching

undefined

Construct your search using the keywords or terms relevant to your topic. 

  • Quotation marks can be used to search for phrases (e.g. "social cognition")
  • Use OR to search for either terms/phrases (domestic violence or family violence)
  • AND searches both terms/phrases (child development and domestic violence
  • Truncation searches for variants of a word. Use an asterisk (*) at the root (e.g. psych* searches for psychology, psychologist, psychological, psychosocial)
  • Brackets ("domestic violence) searches the correct searching order

The following search in Academic Search Complete database yielded: "Child Development" AND ("Domestic Violence" OR "Family Violence")

Turn Your Topic into a Question

undefined

Before you start searching,  turn your topic into a one sentence question: who, what, where, why and how.

When using our databases for journal articles, you have a lot more control over how you design the search. This also means you should get better, more targeted results.

Ethnic Minority Families            Question?

What is the effect of ethnic minority families and absent fathers?

You can also limit your search to "peer reviewed" publications so you search only the academic literature.

Find the Best Terms for Your Search

Find the best terms to use for your search and discover additional vocabulary by using the APA Thesaurus