Skip to main content

Humanities: Encyclopedias, Databases & Citations

Use this guide to assist with locating resources for assignments in Humanities-based disciplines

Bibme.org

 

Purdue Owl

Sons of Citation

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals. It can be a good starting point for research when topics are connected with many disciplines.

Opposing VIEWPOINTS In Context

JSTOR

JSTORJSTOR provides full-text scholarly journal articles from many disciplines. Current access is now available to the Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and VII.

CQ Researcher

 CQ Researcher      

A full-text database of Congressional Quarterly Researcher, presenting overviews of current topics. Coverage includes overviews, chronologies, pro and con points of interest, and bibliographies of additional resources.

                                                                                                                                    

Available Databases

The library subscribes to many databases to provide popular magazines, scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, and newspapers. Browse electronic databases at Databases by Subject or Databases A to Z.

Credo Reference Online

CREDO Reference OnlineCredo Reference Online provides background information for the foundation of research in all disciplines.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online offers dictionary language reference and subject reference works, but there are less resources about history than other databases.

Why Not Wikipedia?

The Issue: Wikipedia

Anyone can write and edit the articles in Wikipedia.

The Awesomeness:

Because it is a collaborative, cooperative effort (aka. wiki) by volunteers around the world who are creating Wikipedia, anyone can write and edit the free online encyclopedia.