Skip to main content

Social Welfare Policy and History: Databases

This research guide highlights sources related to Social Welfare Policy and History.

Databases

The library subscribes to a variety of electronic databases to help you locate articles in popular magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers.  The following electronic databases can be helpful:

Academic Search Complete

A collection of full-text academic and scholarly journals in a number of subject areas.

 

American History and Life

Covers the history and culture of the United States, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present. 

CQ Researcher  A full-text database of Congressional Quarterly Researcher, presenting overviews of current topics. Coverage includes overviews, chronologies, pro and con points of interest, and bibliographies of additional resources.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides a scholarly journal archive for hundreds of FULL text journals across a wide variety of disciplines. 

Global Issues in Context

Global Issues in Context ties together sources to present a rich analysis of issues - social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural - and headlines in world hot spots.

Legal Collection

Index,abstracts, and full text of articles on law and legal topics.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

A one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. 

PSYCHNET

In addition to PsycINFO, this link provides access to PSYCH books. Contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology.

Social Services Abstracts

Abstracts of information pertaining to social work and social services.
 
 
Abstracts of articles from Social Work and other related journals on a variety of social work topics.