Clothing
Catholic Charities of Eastern Virginia – Provides clothing as part of help to families. Offices in Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, Norfolk, Suffolk, Newport News and Williamsburg. FMI 757-456-2366
Children's Clothes Closet – 392 Maple Avenue, Newport News and serves Hampton also. Provides clothing, primarily to school age children, for families in need. No fee. 9:00 am on Thursdays. FMI: 757-643-4086
Church of the Advent – 1097 Bells Mill Road, Chesapeake. FMI: Shylene Thoroughgood 757-410-3081
Clothes Closet -- South Norfolk Baptist Church, 1101 Chesapeake Ave., Chesapeake. Mondays 10:00 am - 11:30 am for South Norfolk residents. FMI: 757-545-4505.
Episcopal Church of the Advent -- 9629 Norfolk Ave., Norfolk. Clothing Closet and Food Pantry are open Mondays and Thursdays 10:00 am – 12:00 pm and Thursday evenings, 6:00 - 7:00 pm. Photo ID and a piece of mail – such as a utility bill identifying you with the address required. Zipcodes 23503, 23505 and 23518 only. FMI: 757-587-0125
Light of Hope United Methodist Church – 208 South Plaza Trail, Virginia Beach. Clothes Closet, 9:00 am - 11:00 am, 4th Thursday of the month. FMI: 757-340-5775
LINK of Hampton Roads – 10413 Warwick Blvd., Newport News. Professional and Casual Clothing Distribution for persons returning to work, for the homeless in need of a change of clothing or casual/professional attire or for families who are unable to purchase needed items for newborns, or elderly persons who are incontinent. . FMI: 757-595-1953
Manna House Ministries – Provides food, clothing, shelter, education and training for families and individuals. Thrift store, Thursdays, 10:00 am - 2:00 pm. FMI: 757-714-0331
Open Door Chapel – 3177 Virginia Beach Blvd., Virginia Beach. Monday - Friday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm. Must have valid ID for each person getting clothing. FMI: 757-340-1441
PARC -- Portsmouth Area Resources Coalition. Portsmouth. Clothing assistance. FMI: 757-393-7848
Parents in Need 116 Reservation Road, Chesapeake. Appointments required. FMI: 757-235-1874
PIN Ministry -- Virginia Beach Outreach Center, 1164 Millers Lane, Suite A, Virginia Beach. Clothing for the housed, Fridays 10:00 am - 12:00 pm. FMI: 757-962-3567.
Six House – 2003 Kecoughtan Rd., Hampton. Assistance with professional clothes for men and women. FMI: 757-244-6100
Victory Gospel Chapel, 2616 Airline Blvd., Portsmouth. FMI: 757-397-8469
Virginia Beach United Methodist Church -- The Potter’s House, 1709 Pacific Avenue, Virginia Beach. Clothing vouchers to Judeo Christian Thrift Store. FMI: 757-428-7727
Wave City Care -- 2610 Potters Rd, Suite 206, Virginia Beach. Assists hurting individuals and families in Hampton Roads to meet their basic and immediate needs for food, clothing, and shelter. FMI: 757-965-8494
Working Men’s Closet -- at Anchor Thrift Store, 123 Battlefield Blvd. (near the locks) Chesapeake. Free professional clothing to prepare for an interview or work. Referral is needed from your pastor, Social Services or case manager. Clothing donations are accepted.
Working Women’s Wardrobe -- 6919 Granby St. Norfolk. Free professional clothing, up to 5 outfits. Need a professional referral source in order to use this service. A mission of the Norfolk Area Baptist Association. FMI: Laura Colman, 757-651-3165
National Agencies for the Homeless
Facts and Policy on Homelessness on National Level
Ensures that the national homelessness policy accurately reflects the needs and experiences of local communities.
National Alliance to End Homelessness
Mobilizes the nonprofit, public and private sectors of society in an alliance to end homelessness.
National Center on Family Homelessness
Updates a previous State Report Card on Child Homelessness.
National Center for Homeless Education
Provides research, resources, and information enabling communities to address the educational needs of children and youth experiencing homelessness.
National Coalition for the Homeless
Brings about the systemic changes necessary to prevent and end homelessness and to protect the rights of people experiencing homelessness by engaging in policy advocacy.
National Council for Homeless Veterans
Provides emergency and supportive housing, food, health services, job training and placement assistance, legal aid and case management support for hundreds of thousands of homeless veterans each year.
National Health Care for the Homeless Council
Includes thousands of providers and consumers of health care targeted to people without homes, working together to end homelessness by improving health care access and quality.
National Law Center on Homelessness and Poverty
Prevents and ends homelessness by serving as the legal arm of the nationwide movement to end homelessness.
U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness
Coordinates the federal response to homelessness and creates a national partnership at every level of government and with the private sector to reduce and end homelessness in the nation while maximizing the effectiveness of the Federal Government in contributing to the end of homelessness.
Focuses on helping homeless Americans who want to work or can become job-ready.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Protects the health of all Americans and supports the delivery of essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Provides a range of assistance for the homeless.
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Helps homeless veterans.
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
Helps prioritize, clarify, and refine efforts to improve coordination across agencies, and improve the efficiency and effectiveness of federal homelessness programs.
U.S. Social Security Administration
Funds programs to prevent and end homelessness.
Veterans Support
Virginia Veteran & Family Support Program (VVFS) – formerly the Virginia Wounded Warrior Program, VVFS provides adequate and timely assessments, treatment and specialized support services to Virginia Veterans and their families of any era or branch of service. Region 5 VVFS works in conjunction with other community organizations and leaders to improve and expand services to our local area veterans and their families. FMI: Linell Hunter, 757-788-0048 or Thea Lawton, 757-788-0032
VetsHouse Inc. an unique nonprofit organization serving homeless veterans in Hampton Roads. It is not a shelter, but a 12-month program providing contemporary living quarters in a group environment, assistance in job hunting, transportation, personal skills and development guidance. FMI: 757-306-1000.
Norfolk State University, Military Services and Veterans Affairs Office, New Student Services Center, suite 110. Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. FMI: 757-823-2586
Veterans can call the National Call Center for Homeless Veterans at 1-877-4AID-VET (424-3838) 24/7 to speak confidentially with a VA counselor and receive help.