InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
If the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library does not own an item you need for research, teaching or study, you may request it through the InterLibrary Loan service.
Browsing the Stacks
The NSU Library Catalog lists books under author, title, keyword and subject. Here's a guide to some of the most common call numbers in our collection for social work. You may also locate e-Books.
HV 11 - Social work schools, education, research methods
HV 40-45 - General work, group,case work
HV 91-995 - United States social welfare history, policy
HV 640-645 - Refugee problems
HV 687 - Social work in health care
HV 689-699 - Social work with families
HV 700-713 - Child abuse
HV 741 - Child welfare, general
HV 875-883 - Adoption, foster care
HV 1442-1448 - Women and social work
HV 1449 - Gays and lesbians
HV 1450-1493 - Social work and the elderly
HV 1551-3024 - Disability and social work
HV 3176 - Multicultural issues, cultural competence
HV 4045 - Poverty
HV 4505 - Homelessness and homeless persons
HV 4998-5823 - Drug abuse, alcoholism, substance abuse
HV 6545 - Suicide
HV 6626-6886 - Rape, violence against women, domestic violence
Databases Focused on Social Work
- Criminal Justice AbstractsThe full-text criminology database from SAGE publications contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
- Abstracts in Social GerontologyIncludes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline.
- Health Source- Consumer EditionInformation on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, child care, sports medicine, and general health.
- Violence & Abuse AbstractsBibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Social Services AbstractsAbstracts of information pertaining to social work and social services.
- SocINDEX with Full TextThe world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
- KanopyKanopy is a video streaming collection with over 26,000 films ranging from documentaries, indie, foreign, classic and blockbuster movies in several subjects and sub-subject areas. PBS, New Day Films, Kino Lorber, and California NewsReel are just a few of the content providers.
Social Work In Print
Professional Writing for Social Work Practice by ISBN: 0826109276Publication Date: 2012-12-01
Statistics and Data Interpretation for Social Work by ISBN: 9780826107213Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Research Methods for Social Work by ISBN: 9781285173467Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Qualitative Research in Social Work by ISBN: 9780231161381Publication Date: 2013-05-21
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by ISBN: 9780470670286Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Evidence-Based Interventions in Social Work by ISBN: 9780398085704Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Journal Articles
Trauma Focused Therapy
- PsycNET (includes PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, & PsycBOOKS)
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection through EBSCOhost
- Social Work Abstracts through EBSCOhost
- Social Sciences (Multi-Database Searching)