Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lyman Beecher Brooks Library Virtual Assistance (ENG 102.45A): Articles and Databases

This guide will show you how to search for various library resources to support your assignment..  Click on one of the tabs below to get more information 

What is an Article?

Connecting Off Campus to Our Databases

NSU Users

Navigate to database resources exactly as if you were on campus.  When you attempt to enter either a restricted area or a subscription database, you will be asked to login.  Here's what you do:

  1. Where prompted, enter your username and password as you would to login in email or blackboard
  2. Click the submit buttom.  At this point, you will be taken to the chosen resource.

Once logged in, you will be able to access any of the databases remotely.

Login with NSU Network ID:

Student Format: d.m.smith

Faculty/Staff Format: dmsmith


NOTE: Network Login ID should be:
dmsmith (Faculty/Staff) or d.m.smith (Student)
NOT dmsmith@nsu.edu or d.m.smith@spartans.nsu.edu

Network Login ID:    

Network Password:     

 

NSU Users & Others

(Community, VTC, Alumni, etc.)
 

Please use this method if you are unable to login via NSU network ID and password.




    

NSU ID Number



NSU Student ID Number: "S" + the seven "middle" digits of your SpartanCard Number, e.g. S0123456 as the Library Bar Code Number

NSU Faculty/Staff ID Number: "F" + the seven "middle" digits of your SpartanCard Number. e.g. F1234567 as the Library Bar Code Number


   

A List of Databases to Which Lyman Beecher Brooks Library Subscribes

 

The Library has numerous electronic databases that provide full-text access to articles in magazines, newspapers, trade publications and scholarly journals.  Where to start will depend on the research you are doing and the type of information you need to find.

If you know the name of the specific database, use the A-Z Listing.

To search for information on a broad topic:

Go to the DATABASES BY SUBJECT button on the A-Z Listing page, then select the subject of your choice. You may find your topic falls under more than one potential category (e.g. Philosophy or Religion

Avoid Paywalls

If you are in a database and searching and you are asked to pay for an article, DO NOT pay.

Never pay If you are asked to pay for an article because:

The library has a paid subscription, so you should never have to pay for access.

Note: If you are asked to pay for the article or sign up for an account, contact a librarian at 757-823-2418.

 

 

How to Find Journal Articles in Our Databases

1. Search for your topic in a database (like Academic Search Complete).

Use keywords. For example, if your topic is women's roles in the political system of Iraq, your search might be "women and politics and Iraq."

2. If the articles you find are in full text, you can read them, save them, e-mail them, or print them immediately.

Otherwise, save the citation information: article title, article authors, journal title, date, volume/issue, and page numbers.

3. Look for the journal title.  Click here to search journals through the Virtual Library of Virginia.

4. For electronic format, click on the computer icon. Check the dates to make sure we have the dates you need. Click on the database title, then conduct a search or look through the issues to find your article.

  • If your article has been published in the last year, it will be located on the first floor or if it is in microfiche/microfilm, it will be on the third floor.
  • If it is in paper format but older than a year, it will be on the 2nd floor with bound journals.
  • In both places, journals are shelved alphabetically by journal title.

6. At any point, please ask us for help if you need it.  You may also Use LibChat to chat with a librarian live. Use LibAnswers to find answers to commonly asked questions.

You must search by the journal title, NOT the article title.

Set your Google Scholar Preferences to Find Full Text Articles

You can customize Google Scholar to provide full-text links to journal articles available through the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library's subscriptions. Here's how to do it:

1. Go to Google Scholar

2. Click on the Menu button  https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/14244/images/settings.png

3. Click on the Settings gear https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/14244/images/settings_button.png

4. Select Library Links, and then enter "Norfolk State University" in the search bar

5. Select "Norfolk State University - Full-Text @ Your Library" from the library menu (note that NSU is for students, staff, and faculty affiliated with the NSU campus.

6. Click "Save"

7. Now, when you search Google Scholar, you will see a "Full-Text @ Your Library" link next to any subscription resources that we have access to through LBB

NOTE: Clearing your browser cache/history will require you to set up Library Links again. Never fear! Bookmark this guide and you'll be all set.