It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing and Allied Health Information Resource Guide: Find Books
This research guide highlights some resources used for locating information. In addition to the resources below, please consult the Online Catalog or a Reference Librarian.
The book covers the core of first year nursing studies: Legal and professional issues, Communication, Values and health care ethics, Reflection and personal development, Evidence-based practice, Study skills, Medicine, and IV fluid and drug administration.
Written in a jargon-free style, the book has numerous practical examples and case studies to really help the reader frame the special requirements of the learning disabilities patient in the healthcare setting.
This authoritative toolkit is organized in an easy-to-use, bullet-point format and includes numerous clinical examples, case scenarios, and personal anecdotes culled from the contributors'own professional experiences.
A wealth of practical information on all aspects of culturally competent communication and treatment—in both classroom and workplace settings--is supplemented with an assessment and evaluation toolkit that can be adapted for all educational levels.
This unique book presents firsthand accounts from nurses at all professional levels, who share their life-changing experiences and insights with nurses interested in the global health arena. Written with compassion and humor, their stories emphasize the practical, challenging, and rewarding aspects of global health nursing.
The book will be of value to nursing students, faculty, educators in staff development settings, and all other professional nurses who wish to provide culturally competent care for their patients. It provides a variety of creative strategies for integrating transcultural nursing education into academia and practice.
Offering a how-to approach to the development and application of cultural competency skills in nursing, this text provides numerous techniques for cultural self-assessment and cultural patient assessment.
Mastering Simulation: A Handbook for Success by Beth Ulrich; Mary E. ManciniThis book is a handbook for individuals working in or preparing to work in simulation and for academic and service organizations that are using simulation or are planning to use simulation. It provides the knowledge needed to become a simulation professional and information on how to best use that knowledge to effectively use simulation in their organizations. Evidence-based and pragmatic, this book raises awareness of the knowledge and expertise required to utilize simulation strategies.
Medicine Meets Virtual Reality 21 by James WestwoodThis book presents the proceedings of the 21st NextMed/MMVR conference, held in Manhattan Beach, California, in February 2014. These papers describe recent developments in medical simulation, modeling, visualization, imaging, haptics, robotics, sensors, interfaces, and other IT-enabled technologies that benefit healthcare.
Publication Date: 2014
The Future of Home Health Care : Workshop Summary by Victoria Weisfeld (Editor); Tracy A. Lustig (Editor)On September 30 and October 1, 2014, the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council convened a public workshop on the future of home health care. The workshop brought together a spectrum of public and private stakeholders and thought leaders to improve understanding of the current role of Medicare home health care in supporting aging in place and in helping high-risk, chronically ill, and disabled Americans receive health care in their communities.
Publication Date: 2015
The Nerdy Nurse's Guide to Using Technology by Brittney WilsonThe Nerdy Nurse’s Guide to Technology provides the tools nurses need to improve their practices, further their careers, and solidify themselves as assets to their employers. Written with humor and easily digestible sections of information, this reference guide supplies nurses with the practical application tools they need to embrace technology and be successful.
The NSU library catalog list books under author, title and subject. You may also perform a call number search as R, RB, RC, RD, RG, RJ,RM, RT. The following subject headings should contain useful information.
R -- General Medicine
RB -- Pathology
RC -- Internal Medicine
RD -- Surgery
RG -- Gynecology and Obstetrics
RJ -- Pediatrics
RM -- Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RT -- Nursing
The Ethical Space of Mindfulness in Clinical Practice by Donald McCownThis book makes a vital contribution to the understanding of ethics as the cornerstone of mindfulness-based practice, and will be of interest to all those involved in delivering mindfulness-based interventions, including psychologists, counselors, spiritual directors, occupational therapists, physicians, nurses, and educators.