Use this guide to make connections to what has happened in the past with what is happening in contemporary times!
Choose Your Site: Site Searching!
Uncovering historic data in databases may be challenging simply because scholarly resources require a longer process and more vetting than the web!
The web is in conflict with the streamlined process of print publishing. Be cautioned that the web can be riddled with issues of misinformation, bias, and steering. So what can you do? You can tell Google where to go - to search that is!
You are able to tailor a search and target specific websites regarding specific topics.
topic: yellow journalism
yellow journalism site: pbs.com
or use the domain extension only to find a variety of sources: .org to find organizations, .edu for academic sources, .com for company sources
Primary source documents related to the Civil Rights Movement. The documents are separated into smaller segments, but this link takes you to the main access for the collections. Subjects include the Freedom Riders, the FBI surveillance of SNCC, and the papers of Fanny Lou Hamer.
Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to an academic) audience.
Database tutorial available.
Youtube: Muckrakers. history4kim: Uploaded on Feb 25, 2011
Youtube: Yellow Journalism: Origins and Definition. WatchMojo.com: Uploaded on Mar 31, 2009
Youtube:Journalism and Civil Resistance: Rev. Jim Lawson in Mexico. Narco News TV: Uploaded on Mar 31, 2010
Youtube: Gay Talese and New Journalism. Big Think: Published on Apr 23, 2012
A full-text database of Congressional Quarterly Researcher, presenting overviews of current topics. Coverage includes overviews, chronologies, pro and con points of interest, and bibliographies of additional resources.
JSTOR provides a scholarly journal archive for hundreds of FULL text journals across a wide variety of disciplines. Current access is now available to the Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and VII.