Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New York Times - Washington Post: Home

NSU's Lyman Beecher Brooks Library now provides online access to all NSU faculty, staff and students to the up-to-date and archived stories of the New York Times and the Washington Post.

Activate Your Subscription

First time users: Activate your NSU subscriptions

New York Times Instructions         New York Times Sign-Up                              Washington Post Instructions  

Use your NSU email and a password of your choice

New York Times

New York Times login

Access: for Norfolk State University Faculty, staff and student access to the daily and archived editions of the New York Times.

First time user: see the New York Times Sign-Up and use your username and a password of your own choice.

Thereafter, sign in to access. Sign-In is at the top, on the far right.

Daily NYT editions (as of 05/2022, and will vary after) include the following sections:

New York Times Archives

  Searches in current editions

can be done from the search window in the top left-hand corner.

They can be limited by date range: mm/dd/yyyy to mm/dd/yyyy.

 

Searches can also be done from the Archives (dating back to 1851) : timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser 

In the TimesMachine searches are set automatically for September 18, 1851 to December 31, 2002, but as above, can be further limited by date range, relevancy, or in date order.

The NYT allows up to 5 PDF article downloads from Times Machine per user per day

 

 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Richard Anderson
Contact:
Part-time Instruction and Reference Librarian, Norfolk State University
757-823-2307

Washington Post

Access: for Norfolk State University Faculty, staff and student access to the daily and archived editions of the Washington Post

First time user: see the Washington Post Sign-Up and use your NSU email as your username and a password of your own choice.

Thereafter, sign in to access. Sign-in is at the top, on the far right.

Daily WaPo editions (as of 05/2022, and will vary after) include the following sections:

 

Washington Post Archives

   Searches in current editions

can be done from the search window in the top left-hand corner.

Coverage is from 2006 - present.  ProQuest's Historical Newspapers database covers 1877-2005 for the Washington Post.

Searches may be limited by Relevancy or Date, and also a Date Range can be specified, e.g. 01/01/15 - 05/10/22  (or whatever the current date is).and clicking on Apply Filter will restrict a search accordingly.

Special compilations of archive stories are also available, as for example: 1968

A digital archive is being constructed. Example is here.