Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Distance Learners: Find a Good Database To Use

This guide outlines library services and resources for distance learners at the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library

Finding a Good Database to Use for Your Topic

You can use Not Sure Where to Start Your Research on the Library homepage to search across various book and article databases simultaneously. Many article databases, however, aren’t included in that search tool. To find the best resources for your topic, you might want to go directly to a specific database. 

  1. General article databases are a good place to start since they contain resources from a variety of disciplines. Simply choose one of those databases and type in your keywords to begin to find articles.
  2. Browse for databases by subject using the All Subjects dropdown for topics such as engineering, sociology, or history if you want to dig deeper into resources covering a specific discipline. If you aren’t sure what subject to choose, look for the academic department that your class is in.
    • Once you’ve chosen a subject, start your search by using one of the recommended databases that are listed at the top of the list.
  3. Browse for databases by type using the All Database Types dropdown if you want to find resources in specific formats, such as government documents, statistics, maps, images and more. For example:
    • News - Use this category to find newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, wire service stories, etc.
    • Images (still)  - Use this category to find photographs, paintings and other still image sources.
    • Statistics and numeric data - Use this category to find statistical tables, numeric data, demographic information, public opinion polls, etc.
  4. Browse or search the entire A-Z list of library-licensed databases if you already know the name of the database you’d like to use.

 

Managing Search Results

Databases have tools that help you manage your results and more.  ERIC, Education Source and others produced by EBSCOhost use the same tools:

Create a personal account to save search results, persistent links to searches, search alerts, journal alerts, and web pages to your personal My EBSCOhost folder.

Learn about using Folders to collect and store information across sessions.

 

For advanced Search options within EBSCOhost see Help.

How Does Off-Campus Access Work?

undefined

1.  When you click an electronic resource on the library's website or library's catalog, the proxy will take you to a login page. 

2. Enter your NSU network ID and password. (The same one you use to access your email and  Blackboard)

3. Once you have logged in, you will not be asked again for your ID and password, until your turn off your computer, or close your browser.