There are times when Google is a completely acceptable tool for finding information. Google supports natural language and whole phrases search methods. The library's databases are cataloged and organized to support subject terms, synonyms and keywords for better results.
Librarians recommend using Google Scholar.
When to use Google/ the Open Web:
When to use Library Databases:
Note: When searching in Google Scholar, you may get full text articles but sometimes it requires a subscription. Never purchase a subscription.
The Library's Google Scholar is Credo Reference database.
1. Use Google Scholar to find a full text/pdf copy of a journal article.
Keep in mind that if we don't have the journal/article that you need online, just submit an interlibrary loan request to get a free PDF copy emailed to you free of charge.
If you have the citation and want a full text/PDF copy of the article, you can use Google Scholar to get a full text/pdf copy of the article.
If you are Off-Campus, you will need to make sure you configure Google Scholar. You will find the configuration instructions below.
1. Copy the title of the journal article in the citation above.
2. Go to Google Scholar. and paste the title of the article into the search box.
3. If NSU Library subscribes to this journal, you will see links to the right of the citation that displays in Google Scholar. Click on the link(s) to get the full text/PDF copy. If a link does not appear, NSU does NOT have a subscription to the journal. However, you can submit an interlibrary loan request and obtain a free copy of the article.
How to Set up Library Links in Google Scholar
You can customize Google Scholar to provide full-text links to journal articles available through LBB Library's subscriptions. Here's how to do it:
1. Go to Google Scholar
6. Click "Save"
You will need to configure the Google Scholar settings in each browser you use to search Google Scholar.
When you encounter any kind of source, consider: