Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Distance Learners: Locating Articles

This guide outlines library services and resources for distance learners at the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library

Articles

undefined

Where Can I Find an Article?

 

Where can I find an article?

  • From the Library 
    • A library database (scholarly, peer-reviewed, trade articles, and news)
    • Discovery (scholarly, peer-reviewed, trade and popular articles)
    • Individual journal titles (scholarly, peer-reviewed or trade articles) 
    • In a 'bound journal' in the library (print)
    • In a newspaper
    • In a print magazine

 

 

Different Types of Articles

There are several different types of articles?

Scholarly articles 

  • Include in-text citations to other sources in the article
  • Include a bibliography or reference list will at the end 
  • Will be written for an academic audience 
  • Will assume some familiarity with the topic

Peer-Reviewed articles

  • Include in-text citations to other sources in the article
  • Include a bibliography or reference list at the end 
  • Will have sources written by other experts in a particularly field (usually with a PhD)
  • Will be authored by experts in the field (usually with a PhD)
  • Will be reviewed by a panel of experts before it is published
  • Will be written for an academic audience
  • Will assume familiarity with the topic

Refereed articles

  • May include in-text citations to other sources
  • Will usually include a reference list
  • Are written by experts in a field (e.g. dentist, accountant)
  • Are written for other experts in a field
  • May assume familiarity with the topic

Popular articles

  • Usually will not include in-text citations or a bibliography
  • Will be written for a general audience
  • May Include pictures or photos
  • May be 'short' (i.e. 1 to 2 pages) in length
  • are often authored by someone not an expert in a field

Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed, Refereed and Popular are four terms essential meaning the same thing.

Finding Full-Text and Scholarly Articles

Search for scholarly articles by using research databases.
On the library home page, a database may be selected by two methods:

When looking for full-text scholarly articles, remember to check (1)  the box labeled Full-Text and (2) Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals on the database search page.

If you do not see one of the links below in the results screen of the full citation, we most likely DO NOT have access to the journal.  BUT! You can still request the article through interlibrary loan, through the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) link.

undefined  In PDF format

undefined In HTML Text

undefined Clicking will take you to PDF or HTML retrieved from another database or site

 

Use the Periodicals Holdings List to see which journals we subscribe to.  Periodicals do not circulate but may be viewed in the library.

 

 

 

 

undefined

A Magazine is a periodical always aimed at the general public and contain material that is liked by people in general and is neither too hard nor technical in nature.

 A Journal is a word that refers to a periodical containing articles written by experts in a particular field. This is a publication not aimed at the general public but specialists and experts.

Is Scholarly or Academic? (How can you tell?)

When trying to determine if an article would be considered "scholarly," look at the following characteristics: These are articles written by experts in the field.