Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Open Access
Open Access (OA) is an international movement that makes scholarly research literature freely available to anyone through the Internet. What does this mean to K-12 educators? Educators who do no have access to scholarly journals through NSU can access scholarly literature published in OA journals.
Go here for a short history on Open Access.
Go to NSU Library's A-Z Databases: See Open Textbook Library for a list of open access resources and Directory of Open Access for a list of journals and articles.
Also see NSU Library's Libguide on OER Resources.
OER Databases in Education
Directory of Open Access Books
The DOAB is a discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license.
Directory of Open Access Journals
An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals
ERIC via US Government Website
Established in 1966, ERIC is the largest education database in the world-containing over 1.5 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books
Open Access Journals in Education
AERA Open --AERA Open is a peer-reviewed, open access journal published by the American Educational Research Association (AERA).
Cogent-Education -- Cogent Education publishes high quality, peer-reviewed articles in educational research.
Open Review of Educational Research -- Included in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), this peer-reviewed, open access journal publishes multi-disciplinary research which explores the purpose of education.
- Contact the Library
- 700 Park Avenue
- Norfolk, VA 23504
- Phone: (757) 823-2418
- Email: Library@nsu.edu