Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education: Search, Find, Write

This guide highlights resources related to education.

Search Across a Wide Ranage of Sources

undefined

You can search the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library, as well as

libraries worldwide, using our WorldCat Discovery search box.

Discovery

Online Catalog

Find 

Databases (locate articles)

E-Journal

Course Reserves

Research Guides

Subject Guides

Digital Collection

 

Finding Full-Text and Scholarly Articles

Search for scholarly articles by using research databases.
On the library home page, a database may be selected by two methods:

When looking for full-text scholarly articles, remember to check (1)  the box labeled Full-Text and (2) Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals on the database search page.

If you do not see one of the links below in the results screen of the full citation, we most likely DO NOT have access to the journal.  BUT! You can still request the article through interlibrary loan, through the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) link.

undefined  In PDF format

undefined In HTML Text

undefined Clicking will take you to PDF or HTML retrieved from another database or site



 

Writing Your Thesis Statement

What is a thesis statement?

  • A thesis statement comes at the beginning of your paper. 
  • It is a statement that answers your research question.
  • The statement is supported throughout your paper with examples and evidence.

 

What makes a good thesis statement?

  • It takes a position, or advances an opinion.
  • It is specific, not too broad, but not too narrow.
  • It is an arguable statement; there is room for discussion or disagreement.
  • It provides focus and generates interest in the reader.

Three Examples:

 

Taking a Position -

Poor (doesn't take a position):

  • I'm going to write about the high rate of suicide and depression in transgender adolescents.

Improved (takes a position):

  • The standard story of binary gender in our society creates a hostile environment for gender variant adolescents, as demonstrated by high rates of depression and suicide.

 

Specificity

Poor (very general):

  • Europe is a great place to visit.

Improved (more specific):

  • World travel is an important element to a well-rounded college education.

 

Arguable

Poor (not much here to argue with):

  • Exercise is good for the elderly.

Improved (specific position that can be argued):

  • Exercise, combined with antidepressants, is more effective in reducing depression in older adults given the prevalence of treatment-resistant depression in late life.