Skip to main content

Psychology: Web Resources

Need help in finding information resources about psychology? This guide will walk you through the research process.

Websites

All Psychology Schools

Discovering Psychology
This site features the Discovering Psychology series, with Dr. Philip Zimbardo.
National Institute of Mental Health
The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.

Enpsychlopedia
Learn more about psychology, mental illness, the brain and human behavior by typing in your search term:

Psych Web
This Web site contains lots of psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology.  Topics include APA style resources, scholarly articles and tip sheets on specific psychological subjects.

Psychology Gateway
Welcome to the Psychology area of Elsevier which provides you with access to news, resources and information about Elsevier’s publications in Psychology. Provides information on publications, not access. 

Neurosciences on the Internet
This site serves two purposes:
List the best neuroscience resources on the Web in one location.
Present original neuroscience content not available elsewhere.

The first two offerings are the Best Bets listing, which will be updated as needed, and a graphical demonstration of the cutaneous fields of peripheral nerves.

Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

PsychCentral
An independent mental health social network for lay persons and clinical professions. Includes topics, quizzes, information on psychological drugs, blog, and books.

MentalHelp.Net
Mental Help Net is a website dedicated to educating the public about mental health, wellness, and family and relationship issues and concerns. The site provides scientifically accurate and up-to-date coverage. 

Recovery,org
This site provides information about psychological and mental disorder recovery.

Psychology.org
Founded in 1997 by Dr. William Palya, now a Psychology Professor, at Jacksonville State University, offers a curated database of thousands of degree programs with customizable search options and guides to gaining admission to schools. Experts provide insight into the many subfields of psychology.

Best Colleges.com
Scholarships for Psychology Majors

The State of Black America
The State of Black America is a National Urban League publication that contains thoughtful commentary and insightful analysis from leading figures and thought leaders in politics, the corporate arena, NGOs, academia and popular culture.

Mental Health Counseling Degree Programs
A directory of over 175 different mental health degree programs.

Clinical Psychology Degrees & Programs

American Addiction Centers
The American Addiction Centers  provide those suffering from addiction the highest quality treatment, marked by clinical excellence, individualized care, and a supportive community that inspires believable hope.