Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tools for Creating Content
PubPub is a collaborative writing and publishing platform from MIT's Knowledge Futures group. The basic level for free allows for robust drafting, editing, and publishing features, as well as a URL at pubpub.org and e-mail support.
Rebus Community guides open textbook projects through the publishing workflow and makes it easy to find, recruit, and organize collaborators.
Can be used to create interactive tutorials and mash up text/media.
Easily record and edit videos of action on your computer screen.
YouTube (Uploading Videos)
The place to upload and store videos for viewing. This link leads to a tutorial on how to upload videos to YouTube.
Online photo editor and drawing tool. Requires Flash.
Open Textbooks and Learning Materials Sites
Note: The University of Minnesota's Open Academics project has a handy rubric for evaluating open textbooks.
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
CCCOER is a growing consortium of community and technical colleges.
Open Textbook Library
A library of open textbooks listed by subject and reviewed by experts. The project is based at the University of Minnesota with ten other university partners, including large mid-western research universities..
Open Course Library
A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
A free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community. The collection consists of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder web pages. Developed at California State University and now coordinated by the State Higher Education Executives Organization (SEEO).
View and share free educational material in modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports or other academic assignments. Provides tens of thousands of learning objects from a host of disciplines, accessible online and downloadable.
A non-profit digital ecosystem for the delivery of educational content to improve learning outcomes from Rice University and several philanthropic organizations.
Digital content hub to locate Open Educational Resources through a single point of access. Also offers OER implementation support, training and professional development initiatives. Founded by ISKME, the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education
Open Images and Media
Free academic resource site with multimedia content for middle-school, high-school and college general education subjects. A project of the National Repository of Online Courses (NROC) and the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education.
- Shared Shelf Commons
A free, open-access library of images powered by ARTstor
- NYPL Digital Gallery
Free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections.
- Getty Open Content Images
Search images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program.
- Flickr - Creative Commons
A collection of images on Flickr offered under a Creative Commons license.
- TED Talks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks. Topics coverall topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.
Open Course sites for students and instructors, directories/portals, courseware, course builders and other tools.
- Academic Earth
Curated lists of free online college courses from top universities selected by staff.
An education platform that partners with universities and organizations worldwide, to offer courses online for free. Many institutions use the online platform with on-campus students in a blended model of learning.
Offers interactive online classes and MOOCs from universities including MITx, HarvardX, BerkeleyX, UTx and more. A non-profit initiative governed by Harvard and MIT.
Coordinated by the OER Foundation, a network of institutions offering free online higher education courses for students worldwide. OERu partners also provide ways for learners to gain academic credit towards qualifications from recognized institutions.
- MIT OpenCourseWare
A web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
- CMU Open Learning Initiative
OLI at Carnegie Mellon University offers online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. Courses are used for classroom instruction and designed to support the individual learner.
- Course Builder
Create an online course as a Google App Engine application.
Interdisciplinary and Multidisciplinary
Purdue University Ebooks (Open Access)
"Purdue University Press is making available a collection of books published since its foundation in 1960 as Open Access PDFs. These titles are free to read online, download, and print for non-commercial purposes."
University Of Pittsburgh Press Digital Editions
Web-viewable; individual pages can be printed; clear pagination. "Pitt Press has selected 762 monographs for open access, including titles from the Pitt Latin American Series, Pitt Series in Russian and East European Studies, and Composition, Literacy and Culture. The majority of these titles are out-of-print, but are now available online."
"The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."
A great repository for out-of-copyright and in the public domain ebooks!
200 Free Textbooks: A Meta Collection | Open Culture
- Contact the Library
- 700 Park Avenue
- Norfolk, VA 23504
- Phone: (757) 823-2418
- Email: Library@nsu.edu