Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources and Services for Faculty: Online Instructional Support

An overview of library resources pertinent to Norfolk State University faculty.

Logging in Off-Campus to Access Databases

undefined

Logging into Library Databases

Our databases are listed at http://libguides.nsu.edu/az.php.

When you choose a database from that A-Z list, it should direct you to an OpenAthens login.

Once you are on the OpenAthens login page, enter your NSU username (everything to the left of the @ in your email address) and your NSU password. This will provide you access to all of our databases as long as your browser is open. In other words, once you have logged in, you can switch from one database to another without having to log into OpenAthens again.

Many patrons start their academic research at Academic Search Complete.
It is the second database listed at http://libguides.nsu.edu/az.php.

You can also access OpenAthens directly by going to https://login.openathens.net/auth/nsu.edu/o/71385022 and logging in with your NSU username and password. Once you are there, click on the "Login to MyAthens" and you will get an interactive list of everything we are subscribed to. EBSCO Information Services is quite popular with our patrons, as well as the video streaming service called Kanopy, but all of our digital subscriptions are accessible from https://my.openathens.net/my once you have logged in.

Embedding and Integrating Library Instruction into your Blackboard Course

Provide your students with direct online access to course-related library resources by embedding links to these resource within your Blackboard course site.   Possible library resources include:

  • Journal articles from a database
  • Databases and indexes to articles
  • Subject-specific research guides ("Libguides")
  • Online tutorials
  • Citation guides
  • Online writing guides

Librarians can also provide research assistance and instruction through Blackboard.  Consider some of the following options:

  • Add contact information for your library liaison
  • Request a synchronous library instruction session via Blackboard Collaborate
  • Ask a librarian to create a customized list of resources related to your course/topic or to a specific assignments

For more information on including library resources in your Blackboard course, please feel free to contact a librarian about this option of integrating library resources and services into your course site.  See the box, titled, How to embed a library LibGuide in Blackboard by Ohio University.

Ohio University:How to Embed a Library Libguide into Blackboard, March 12, 2020

What if you could lead your students to library databases and resources without them leaving Blackboard? The Lyman Beecher Brooks Library has made it possible to embed material from the library's website directly into Blackboard. You can embed an entire guide or a single box from the library’s site. Ohio University has made an excellent video with instructions.  If you have any problems, contact one of your Librarians at Norfolk State University.