Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources and Services for Faculty: Free Open Access Resources

An overview of library resources pertinent to Norfolk State University faculty.

Publishers with Multiple Subject Areas

Journal Archives contains journals from Brill, Institution of Civil Engineers, Institute of Physics, ProQuest, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, the Royal Society of Chemistry and Taylor and Francis.

The Press has made all Academic higher education textbooks free to access online. All 700 textbooks published and currently available in HTML format on Cambridge Core can now be accessed free until the end of May. More than 80 relevant book chapters and journal articles are available, drawn from journals including Epidemiology & Infection; Prehospital and Disaster Medicine; Infection Control & Hospital Epidemiology, and from Animal Health Research Reviews, among others.

In response to the challenges created by the global public health crisis of COVID-19, Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on our platform. There are over 2,000 open access books and a small number of fully OA journals on the MUSE platform.

Majority medical and science but also other subjects such as Criminology, Sociology and Psychology.

101 Free Online Databases

Have you ever been writing a paper and while researching you come across an online journal database that claims to connect you to academic, peer-reviewed research?  Interested, you search for keywords related to your topic, only to discover that you must pay a subscription fee to access the service.

Subscription fees are often the annoyance of students and academics. Whether you're working on an undergraduate paper, a PhD dissertation, or a medical research study, we want to help you find tools to locate and access the information you need to produce well-researched, persuasive, and innovative writing.

Download Full List of 101 Databases

 

Art, History, English, Science, Medical and Health Resources

JSTOR Archive

JSTOR is making all of its archive journal collections, along with a new collection of 26 Public Health titles and over 30,000 eBooks openly available.

 

Note: Some of these resources are free due to COVID-19

 

Art, History & English Resources

 

Note: Some of these free resources are free due to COVID-19