Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Citation Tools
Please keep in mind that the following tools are not perfect. It is highly recommended that you verify the accuracy of any citations produced by these tools using the citation style's official manual.
Many of these citation tools also allow you to import and/or export citations between them and other citation tools.
A free online citation creator that will store more than one citation at a time. You may search their database for your resource and if it's there, a citation will be created automatically. Covers APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian.
Another free online citation creator. Covers APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian.
EasyBib: Free Automatic Bibliography and Citation Maker
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography.
KnightCite Citation Service
From Calvin College. Enter information into the citation maker and choose your citation style. Copy the resulting citation to your work. See FAQs for more info.
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. It is used especially by people in the sciences. Both free and paid (fee) versions are available.
Free online tools that can create only one citation at a time based on information you provide about the source you are trying to cite. Premium versions of this software are also available for a fee.
Yet another online citation creation tool. Similar to BibMe, WorksCited4U allows you to search for the source you are trying to cite and if found, will create the citation automatically. Covers APA, MLA, and Chicago.
Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a Firefox add-on or extension that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies. It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.
Take a look at what you can do with Zotero:
Create and manage citations of books, articles, videos, etc. Import citations from databases. Attach searchable notes, PDF's, images, and tags to citations. Quickly create a bibliography in multiple formats (MLA, Chicago, APA...). Automatically manage in-text citations in Microsoft Word. Easily share references with others. Create bibliographies
Unique ways to Retrieve Citations and use Citations to Retrieve Full-Text Articles
- Use Google Scholar to find a full text/pdf copy of a journal article. If you have a citation and want a full text/PDF copy of the article, you can use Google Scholar to get a full text/pdf copy of the article. Note, if you are off-Campus, you will need to make sure you configure Google Scholar. Y
Many other U.S. universities also have excellent undergraduate writing centers. Check these out for more information.
Located on the first floor of the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library, the Writing Center
will provide individualized writing assistance to students across all disciplines. The Writing Center will review areas of concern and target techniques to ensure quality writing projects. Tutors will not simply edit or proofread student papers, but assist students in learning to proofread their own work, explore the writing process, organize information, support sound evidence, and develop better writing practices.
Plagiarism (Practice of stealing someone else's work or ideas as your own) Mix - 4 Famous Musicians (Who Stole Their Biggest Hits) - The Spit Take YouTube (February 2, 2015)
NSU Academic Policy
Norfolk State University adheres to policies and procedures on plagiarism and academic honesty. There are consequences and the results can be failure for the class, expulsion from the class, or expulsion from the University.
See: Academic Dishonesty Procedures on the University's website.
- Contact the Library
- 700 Park Avenue
- Norfolk, VA 23504
- Phone: (757) 823-2418
- Email: Library@nsu.edu