Skip to main content

Harrison B. Wilson Archives and The African Art Gallery at NSU: Other Materials

Norfolk State University Archives is the repository of the non-current, official records of the University, its organizations, students and faculty. The African Art Gallery at Norfolk State University supplements the classroom experiences of the Universit

Other Materials

undefined

The Harrison B. Wilson Archives house the historical records of the University, its organizations and students.  In addition to the University’s magazines, catalogues, yearbooks, theses, dissertations, student newspapers, event programs, photographs, game programs, media guides, and records of various offices and organizations; the Harrison B. Wilson Archives also collect and preserve the historical records of African-Americans in Virginia.  The archives house over forty manuscript collections of prominent individuals and organizations.  The oral history collection includes the recollections of local people involved in the Civil Rights Movement as well as some of the early professors and administrators who were pioneers at the university.  The microfilm collection contains 19th and 20th century’s newspapers; census records of Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina; military records of black soldiers; and NAACP records.

The databases listed below can help you locate those hard to find items you need. Once you locate an item, you can request it via ILLiad.    

If We Do not Have What You Need ...

undefined

We can  get just about anything you need as long as someone is willing to lend it to us!  What usually will NOT be lent: original manuscripts or rare books.  Some items may be difficult to get, such as entire journals or newspapers, reference books, multimedia, software. Once you locate an item, you can request it via ILLiad. 

To request an item to be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan, you must log onto the Illiad service. First time users must create an account. To do so, please click on "First Time User" link.  Lending, however, is  at the discretion of the owning library, so if an item is an original archival item available at only one library, chances are it won't be lent.  Don't hesitate to ask for help concerning these items.

Civil Rights History

undefined

The Civil Rights History Project: Survey of Collections and Repositories

[Civil rights oral histories of Norfolk, Virginia]

Repository: Norfolk State University. Harrison B. Wilson Archives and Art Gallery

Collection Description (CRHP): These oral histories deal with the civil rights movement in Norfolk, Virginia, and feature interviews of African American students and young faculty members active in the movement as well as African American ministers and activists who later went into politics. Many of these interviews were conducted by Dr. Tommy Bogger.

Access Copy Note: Not all the interviews are transcribed. These interviews are referenced in the archive by the names of the individuals interviewed.

Condition Note: The audio cassettes are old and might not be in the best condition.

Digital Status: No

Extent: audio cassettes; 5 transcripts

Language: English

Related Archival Items: Dr. Tommy Bogger also did some oral histories that dealt with civil rights for the book "Norfolk: The First Four Centuries" (1994). They are held at the Norfolk City Clerk's office.

Interviewees: M. Boyd Jones, Herbert Marshall, James H. Reeves, Vivian Carter Mason, William P. Robinson

Rights (CRHP): Contact the repository which holds the collection for information on rights

Subjects:

African American clergy
African American students--Virginia
African Americans--Civil rights--Virginia
African Americans--Politics and government
Civil rights movements--Virginia

Genres:

Interviews
Sound recordings
Transcripts