Skip to main content

INT 210: Resources

This guide is intended to help you with your library research. You will find databases, journals, ebooks, reference books, and selected datasets to help with your literature review, or provide background information on Interdisciplinary Studies.

Starting Point for Library Research

undefined

Bookmark these handy links to resources at LBB Library:

LBB Library Main Page
http://library.nsu.edu/
Start here for all information about the library—including our hours, services, news and announcements, and links to resources and databases.

Scholarly vs Popular Articles

Reference
http://library.nsu.edu/screens/askalibrarian.html
Ask a librarian for help conducting research for your paper, thesis or other needs. The Library also offers walk-up reference assistance.

Interlibrary Loan
http://library.nsu.edu/screens/interlibraryloan.html
If the Emory Libraries don’t have the item you’re looking for, you may be able to obtain it through Interlibrary Loan. Check WorldCat (available through Databases @ Emory).

Research Guides
http://libguides.nsu.edu/c.php?g=291689
Start your research here: course-specific guides, general guides for researching a particular subject, and how-to guides on topics ranging from finding newspaper articles to managing citations in your papers using applications like EndNote and Zotero.

WorldCat
http://0-firstsearch.oclc.org.library.nsu.edu/fsip?done=referer&dbname=WorldCat
WorldCat lists library books and other materials not just in the U.S. but in many countries. In addition to the subscription database version (above), there is also a free version that can be accessed publicly at www.worldcat.org.

Databases
http://library.nsu.edu/screens/databases.html
A full list of the online databases to which the library subscribes.  Search inside the individual databases for journal articles (many with full text content!), newspaper articles, online collections of literature and primary source materials, and reference works such as dictionaries and encyclopedias. Databases are the best place to start for in-depth coverage of journal articles in a specific discipline.

eJournals
http://0-cc8kb7zr2k.search.serialssolution.com.library.nsu.edu/
Tells you whether we have a particular journal in the electronic format and which databases have coverage of that journal. Useful if you already have a journal article citation and what to find out whether the library has online access to it.

Course Reserves
http://library.nsu.edu/screens/reservepolicy.html
See what books and videos are on reserve for your course and access electronic reserves from here.

Streaming Video

Statistics and Data

American FactFinder

  • Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
  • UNData
  • Vizala

Manage your Research

Most of the library databases offer a great opportunity to manage your research. You can place articles into a folder, save your searches, and create notes about your research. The information remains in a folder indefinitely so you can access it any time. You can create multiple folders for different research projects.

Getting Started:

  1. In the blue tool bar, click on "Sign In"
  2. You will need to "Create an Account" the first time which only takes a minute or two. Occasionally the password part is quirky so you might have to try a couple of times.

Save Articles:

  • When viewing citations, click the "Add to Folder" button.

Save Searches:

  1. Click on "Search History" located just under the search form
  2. Click "Save Searches / Alerts"
  3. Name your search and save

Create Notes:

  • When viewing a citation, click on the "Create Note" link on the right side of the page.

Retrieving Articles & Searches:

  • Click on "Folder" in the blue tool bar. In addition to a list of your articles, you will get these links on the left side of the page: