Skip to main content

Social Work in Credo: Journals

Welcome to the Social Work Library Resources guide! This guide is designed as a jumping-off point for your research in the field of social work.

Finding Databases

Search for scholarly articles by using research databases.
On the library home page, a database may be selected by two methods:

Is it Scholarly or Print?

When trying to determine if an article would be considered "scholarly," look at the following characteristics:

Peer Reviewed articles are articles written by experts in the field.

 

Magazines vs Journals. A magazine is a periodical aimed at the general public, which contains news, opinion and personal narratives. Journals are scholarly periodicals aimed at researchers or specialists.

Finding Journals by your School or College

Retrieving Full-Texted Articles (Electronic)

When looking for scholarly articles only, remember to check the box labeled either Scholarly or Peer Reviewed on the database search page.

Locate the Full-Text of an Article in a Database:

1.  Click on "Limit your results" Full-Text"

2. Check for PDF icon on article record in database search results to read the full article.

Locate the Full-Text of Article from a Citation:

Click on the JOURNALS button on the library's homepage to search for the name a specific journal. The results will indicate all electronic subscriptions.

Looking for a Specific Social Work Journal

Start at the Library's website and select Journals under the Search Tab

Enter the title of the journal that you are looking for.  For example, Child and Adolescent Social Work

1 record retrieved for the search: Title begins with "child and adolescent social work"

  Child & adolescent social work journal  (0738-0151)    Title details from ulrichsweb.com™

Alternate Title: Child and adolescent social work

      

 

from 03/01/1984 to present in EBSCOhost EJS

 

from 02/01/1996 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete and Education Research Complete

 

Pay attention to full text access for each entry.  Some databases will include shorter or older data ranges, and some will have an "embargo" or a period of time when the full text is not available. Select the database option that best meets your needs.

Searching Social Work Databases

A good place to start your search is the Social Work Abstracts database.  Spend some time brainstorming your search terms and develop a search strategy before starting your search.

Social Work Abstracts is a core resource covering all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practices, therapy, education, human services, additions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights.

Example: Simple Search Performed in Social Work Abstracts

substance abuse AND adolescen*