Skip to main content

PED 357-01-Organization and Administration of Physical Education: Journals & Off-Campus Access

This guide serves as a starting point for students researching Organization and Administration of Physical Education

Finding Databases

Search for scholarly articles by using research databases.
On the library home page, a database may be selected by two methods:

Key Databases

 

Click on a database to begin searching for journal articles and other materials. You will be redirected to enter your MyNSU email and password to gain access to the database.

Credo Reference Online

Consumer Health Complete

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center

Health Source - Consumer Edition

Health & Medicine

JoVE: Video Journal & Science Education

MedCom

Medline

Mergent Horizon

Mergent Investext Snapshot and Mergent Intellect

Newspaper Source Plus

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Physical Education Index

Regional Business News

SocINDEX with Full Text

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video: Volume I

Teacher Reference Center

U.S. National Library of Medicine

 

Google Scholar

PsycNet
Subjects: Dance, Education, Psychology, Health Sciences Databases, Sports Science and Sports Education, Counseling, Dietetics, Health Care Admininstration, Health Education, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Public Health, Radiographic Science, Speech Language Pathology, Paramedic Science, Special Education
 
  • Subjects: Education, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Sports Science, Sports Education
    Free

 

 

Finding Articles Full-Texted

When looking for scholarly articles only, remember to check the box labeled either Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals on the database search page.

Locate the Full-Text of an Article in a Database:

1.  Click on "Search for Full-Text"

2. Check for PDF icon on article record in database search results.

Locate the Full-Text of Article from a Citation:

Click on the JOURNALS button on the library homepage to search for the name a specific journal. The results will indicate all electronic subscriptions.

Is it Scholarly? Print or Electronic!!

When trying to determine if an article would be considered "scholarly," look at the following characteristics:

Peer Reviewed articles are articles written by experts in the field.

 

Magazines vs Journals. A magazine is a periodical aimed at the general public, which contains news, opinion and personal narratives. Journals are scholarly periodicals aimed at researchers or specialists.

Off-Campus Access

USING THE LIBRARY'S RESOURCES FROM OFF-CAMPUS

Off-campus (or remote) access to the University Library’s electronic resources is provided to allow Library users  to securely connect to databases, electronic journals,  ebooks and streaming media services without installing complicated third-party software. When you attempt to access library content from off campus, you’re prompted  to enter your NSU network username and password after which you’re connected. It’s that easy.

Having trouble with remote access to e-books?

If you encounter a broken link or cannot get into a resource, you can do a few things first to make sure that there really is a problem.

  1. Reload the page
  2. Make sure you have configured your browser to accept cookies
  3. Wait a few minutes and try again. For some resources we have a limited number of simultaneous users. When the maximum number of users are logged in, you could be denied access.
  4. Change to a different browser and/or computer
  5. You may be prompted for a username and password when none is required. Please wait a few minutes and try again.

Ask a Librarian