Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where are the books about Dance?
Use the following call number ranges to search the stacks on your own:
- GV 1585 - Dictionaries, encyclopedias
- GV 1588 - Philosophy (and theory)
- GV 1589- Study and teaching
- GV 1590-GV 1594 - General works
- GV 1595 - Special aspects of the subject as a whole
- GV 1597 - Dancing as a profession
- GV 1600 - Dance criticism, appreciation
- GV 1645-GV 1728 - Dance history (and historical dance)
- GV 1743 - National dances. Folk dances and dancing (General)
- GV 1746-GV 1771 - Social dancing. Ballroom dancing
- GV 1781-GV 1795 - Theatrical dancing (Biography: GV 1785)
- GV 1796 - Special dances
When you can not locate the book in the Library...
VIVA – is a statewide consortium of mostly college and university libraries. Search the VIVA to borrow books from other consortium members.
Interlibrary Loan – If you cannot find the items you need at Lyman Beecher Brooks Library, the Interlibrary Loan Department will order the materials you need.
1. If you do not have an account, create one.
2. Select First Time User. Provide requested information.
3. You will receive an e-mail indicating when the article is available. Follow the prompts and retrieve the article within 10 days.
What is an e-book?
- Actual published books in digital format
- 24/7 access from anywhere
- Fully searchable
How do I "borrow" one?
- To access an ebook, click on one of the links on the left to look in our collections or the online catalog
- Enter your username and password (see box at the bottom)
- Select the title that you would like to use by clicking on it
- Read, create notes, cite, print, download, email - each collection offers slightly different features.
Where do I find them?
- Use the links provided here or in your Portal under Library Tab.
- Once you have selected the collection you would like to search, enter your search terms in the search box.
- You can also browse the collections.
- In Gale Virtual Reference Library, use the Subjects listed on the left OR click on the Title List to get all of the titles in this collection in alphabetical order.
- In eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), click on Library Holdings to view all of the library's electronic books in this collection.
- Contact the Library
- 700 Park Avenue
- Norfolk, VA 23504
- Phone: (757) 823-2418
- Email: Library@nsu.edu