Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance: Finding Articles

This guide gives an overview of resources and information for research about dance.

Where to Search

Journal articles can be found in the LBB Library by searching through the various databases listed on the A-Z Database List. 

A database is a search tool (akin to a search engine) that contains citations to journal articles (although, sometimes other materials/article types can be found within the database).

Typically the best place to start your search is Credo Reference or EBSCO's Academic Search Complete. The LBB Library has subject specific databases that might be more appropriate for your search.

Journal vs Magazine

Magazines vs Journals. A magazine is a periodical aimed at the general public, which contains news, opinion and personal narratives. Journals are scholarly periodicals aimed at researchers or specialists.

Full Texted Icons

When searching, you will see one of the  three icons below associated with articles. The first two are “right” and work....and last, the ‘Linked Full Text’ sometimes causes problems. 

  

PDF retains the exact appearance of a document

HTML documents are designed for on-screen viewing 

Linked Full Text  item should be free. It means that the article you have found in the currently searched database is not available in full text in THAT database. BUT, it can be found in full text in another database. There are times when links break down and a "Linked Full Text" link might take you to a site that offers the article for a fee. This is a mistake and should not have happened.

Peered Review Articles

Peer reviewed journals are also called scholarly, academic, or refereed journals. Articles in these journals are written by scholars or professionals who are experts in their fields.  Before these articles can be published, however, they must be submitted to peer reviewed or scholarly journals for consideration. The articles are first reviewed internally by the editorial staff of the publication, and if the editor or staff believes that the article meets the publication's high standard of scholarship, accuracy, and reliability, a panel of the author's peers, also experts in the field, will then be asked to review the article. Each reviewer evaluates the article by asking themselves questions like the following to judge the quality and significance of the research:  What is this research about? Is it important? Is the methodology sound? Are the conclusions logical? Are the findings original? Was the literature review thorough?  Does the article make a significant contribution to the scholarship of the field?  Does it meet the scope of this particular journal? Based on the answers to these questions, the reviewers will each decide whether or not they believe the article is worthy of publication in the journal.  They will make their recommendation to the editor to either approve the article for publication for reject it.  This part of the process is called the external review.  The editor of the journal makes the final determination, of course, and may very well require that the author make revisions to the article before it is published. Many scholarly journals have high rejection rates.

 At this time, peer-reviewed journal literature is still considered the highest form of scholarship.  More importantly, your professors will likely say that they want you to use at least some peer-reviewed articles in your paper.