Anyone can write and edit the articles in Wikipedia.
Because it is a collaborative, cooperative effort (aka. wiki) by volunteers around the world who are creating Wikipedia, anyone can write and edit the free online encyclopedia.
America: History and Life database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Archives Unbound has primary source documents related to the Civil Rights Movement. Browse subject collections by following the browse link for "Your Collections." Subjects include the Freedom Riders, the FBI surveillance of SNCC, and the papers of Fanny Lou Hamer.
History Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle and Women's Studies provides access to primary source documents, and History Vault provides access to all six collections of the NAACP papers.
Historical Newspapers from ProQuest include the following titles: Atlanta Daily World, the Baltimore Afro-American, the New York Amsterdam News, the Norfolk Journal and Guide, and the Pittsburg Courier.
American History in Video (through Alexander Street) provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
Kanopy is a video streaming collection with over 26,000 films ranging from documentaries, indie, foreign, classic and blockbuster movies in several subjects and sub-subject areas. PBS, New Day Films, Kino Lorber, and California NewsReel are just a few of the content providers.
JoVE: Video Journal & Science Education is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. All JoVE articles are indexed in subject-relevant indexing sites, including PubMed/MEDLINE, SciFinder and Scopus.