Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 102: Communication Skills II: Keywords, Periodicals, & Evaluation

Use this guide to locate resources for assignments outlined in ENG 102: Communication Skills II.

CC: By Hulton Archive - French Revolution [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

French guillotine

Remember to narrow down topics and use keywords when searching. For example, searching the keywords “French Revolution AND guillotine AND entertainment AND public” would give resources about the role of the guillotine during the French Revolution as a form of entertainment. 

Gale Virtual Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library  Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including Contemporary Black Biography.

Keywords for Searching

Use Keyword Searching when:
  • You are unsure of the professional term used by experts and are using the name you assign to the idea 
  • You are searching in two or more databases at the same time
  • Your term may be related to a new theory or idea that may not be included in the controlled vocabulary
  • Your term could appear in multiple places, such as the title, abstract, or the full text of the article (depending on how the database is set up to search)

Use Controlled Vocabulary Searching when:

  • You are searching in only one database
  • You are using controlled vocabulary after consulting a thesaurus or index
  • You are using subject terms from an article's description or citation within the source, so you know experts use the exact term 

Advanced Search Strategies

Helpful Searching Tools:
  • Truncation – to search with various versions of the same word, use the word root and a wild card symbol
    • Parent* will find: parent, parents, parenting, parental 
  • Synonyms – enclose words with similar meanings in parentheses or put them into separate search boxes
    • (teen* or juvenile* or adolesc* or youth)
  • Phrases – enclose a phrase in quotation marks to indicate that the word should be searched together (for most databases)
    • “teen pregnancy” or “market share”
Expanding & Limiting Results with Logical operators (Boolean operators): 
  • or – expands the number of results and is used with the synonyms
    • (teenagers or adolescents)
  • and – limits the number of results and each term must have "and" between the term. Each additional “and” (subject, language, publication year) decreases the number of results
    • (teenagers and pregnancy) 
  • not – excludes information
    • (art not sculpture)

Use CRAAP to Evaluate Your Sources

Periodicals: 3 Interchangeable Terms for Materials for general, trade, and scholarly magazines!

Narrowing or Broadening Topics

To Narrow Down a Research Topic:
  • Theoretical Approach: Limit research to a particular approach or viewpoint
  • Aspect or Sub-Area: Limit the topic to one piece of the subject
  • Time: Limit the time span that you will examine
  • Population: Limit by age, sex, race, occupation, species, ethnic group, or another identifiable factor
  • Geographical: Limit research by geographical location
To Broaden a Research Topic:
  • Try generalizing the search terms, as the topic may be too specific
  • Search with synonyms of words within the topic
  • Explore subject terms used in an article you find useful to search using the controlled vocabulary of experts
  • Add more databases to the search or find additional database sources (i.e. JSTOR vs EBSCOhost)
  • Check if topic is too new and information is mostly in news sources as breaking news